How did I get here?

That’s a question I have asked myself many times.  I should really ask, “Why did it take me so long?”  I know the answer to that one.  I allowed life to get in my way.  I loved writing as a teenager, and English class was one of my favourites in school.  My poor teacher, Ms. McGovern, must have dreaded my homework landing on her desk, her request for a three page essay being turned into a ten page one by me.  In my twenties I did join a writer’s workshop for a while and some of my work was published in their first book. However, having a young family to care for was a bit of a distraction and I didn’t make the effort to keep writing.  I did make up lots of stories to tell my children, but never wrote them down.

So, how did I get here, with this blog and my first book published?  All I can say is that in October 2012 I was watching TV with my fourteen year old daughter, and a story was forming in my head.  I told her about it and she said it would make a cool movie.  I began to write it that day, on the laptop.  Sometimes that’s all it takes.  Write it down, keep thinking about it and tell people what you are doing.  I have a small nail salon and a whole bunch of lovely clients, many of whom I told about my writing.  It’s due to their encouragement and interest that I kept going.  Having told other people that I wanted to be a writer, I now felt I had committed to something, and just kept going.

I have carried on writing for the love of the craft, not because of financial reward, although it would be very nice to make a living from it.  My salon gives me an income and as I have practically given up watching TV, I have made the time to write.  There is so much to learn, so much to catch up on.  I have to edit, copy edit, proof read etc. because at the moment the money isn’t there to pay for all of this.  In time I hope to be able to present better edited books, but for now, I’m doing my best, and one of my sons is doing the covers for the  Finding Trilogy.

My advice to anyone considering putting “pen to paper” is…. GO FOR IT!

Have fun, do your best, edit until you’re sick of looking at your work, and then edit some more.  Join lots of relevant websites and learn from the wealth of experience that like minded people are so generously sharing with each other.  Then give back when you are ready and feel that you have something to contribute yourself.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Writers Resource and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How did I get here?

  1. This a really beautiful blog theme. It will be a joy to read. I have been ‘blogging’ for almost exactly a year. It took me quite a while to get the hang of it, and I’m still not very comfortable with stuff like widgets. MARSocial looks like a good place, very friendly and low key. A good addition to the social networking battery! Best of luck with your book launch. I won’t promise to read it, or not soon anyway as I’m up to my neck in edits and have a long reading list already. But it will be on my ‘to read eventually’ list.

    Like

    • jeanr7 says:

      Jane, thank you so much for your encouraging words. I’m also busy editing and trying to write another book, there just isn’t enough hours in the day. Even if there were more, I still don’t think I would get any more sleep than I do at present.

      Like

  2. Peter says:

    Thanks for the link Jean, that’s so spooky you know, I used to make up stories for the kids too, when they were little and always left it on a cliff hanger, lol, well done on the first book too, it does seem 2012 has been a good year to spark and inspire a lot of latent writers from the past, lets hope it’s good for all of us 🙂

    Like

    • jeanr7 says:

      Thanks for your comment, Peter. I can’t believe how many people I know personally who either want to write or used to write and are doing so again. Long live creativity.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you.

