New to blogging?

Image Creative Commons, Kristina B, flickr

Are you new to blogging? Do you have some great content to share but not quite sure how to go about it? Is the technology involved difficult to get your head around? Don’t be disheartened, thousands of people create a new blog every day. Some abandon them, like I did for almost a year. It can be difficult to sift through the mountain of information on the internet to find a simple, straightforward explanation of how to use your posts to get visitors to your blog. It’s a process I am just getting to grips with now. I use WordPress and I find the information it offers really helpful in learning how to use the technology and tools provided by the site. There are video tutorials freely available that will talk you through the process of setting up your blog and making it work for you. So take advantage of all the help that is offered.

I came across this chart 12 Easy Steps , which will help me to make the most out of my blog – it’s FREE to download and print out. I’m taping it to the wall above my desk as we speak. Learning how to reach people can be so confusing and difficult to remember. This visual aid will show you in a very easy to understand format what you need to do after you have written your blog post.

Now that you know how to reach people with your interesting posts, you can progress onto a more advanced type of blog. The future is VISUAL take Instagram, Vine, Snapchat and, of course, Youtube for example. Words on the web now work best accompanied by an image or a video. I like it when I see both together. This is what the blogging pros are very much aware of and if you check out these 39 Blogging Tips you will see how they are keeping up with the demand for visual content.

The book “The Rise of the Image, The Fall of the Word” by Mitchell Stephens (Oxford University Press), was published in 1998 and foretells of a time when communication by visual means would be preferred over the written word. He writes, “Moving images use our senses more effectively than do black lines of type, stacked on white pages.”  The old saying, a picture paints a thousand words, comes to mind. Whether you are new to blogging or an old hand at it, the move towards visual content is well worth keeping up with.

Jean Reinhardt 2014

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writers Resource and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New to blogging?

  1. Thanks for posting this Jean. I’m useless at the promotion aspect of blogging.

    Like

  2. Tell me about it, Jane. I’m learning as much as I can. It took me a long time to take the plunge but I enjoy it now – finding the time is my biggest problem.

    Like

  3. thelifeofababybuddha says:

    Great tips! Many thanks for sharing, Lisa 🙂

    Like

  4. mhobloggeruk says:

    Hi Jean
    I have only been blogging for just over a month (I am a total newbie and a self confessed technophobe) so all tips are greatly received.

    Your point about “visuals” nudging writing aside is likely true. However, as someone who enjoys and takes delight in words – I can’t help but sigh.

    Best wishes and if your ever browsing you can find me at firsttimebloggeruk

    Like

  5. I know what you mean about taking delight in words. The next generation though will probably be more attracted to visual images, in general, because that’s what they will have grown up with. When I was a child we had a black and white tv and only a couple of channels. My attention was grabbed and my imagination fired by the written word. Nowadays, when I’m searching for a book to read, in a bookstore or online, I find myself drawn by the covers. The modern era must be rubbing off on me – just a bit. 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

