My Writing Process Blog Tour

 

books, teen fiction, trilogy

Thank you for inviting me to participate in the ‘My Writing Process Blog Tour’ Jane Dougherty

Jane: What are you currently working on?
Jean: At the moment I am on the last few chapters of Finding Henry Brubaker, book three of The Finding Trilogy, a Young Adult suspense fiction. As soon as I start editing that book I am itching to begin writing my second Historical Fiction. I am usually writing one book while editing another.
Jane: How does your work differ from others of its genre?
Jean: My YA books are not dystopian, fantasy, science fiction or paranormal. They are set a couple of decades in the future and would come under teen fiction/suspense/medical genre. My HF books are about life in the mid 1800’s to early 1900’s and what it was like for some of my ancestors. I use them as inspiration and build a story around them, set in events that actually took place.
Jane: Why do you write what you do?
I like to read historical fiction and young adult, so that’s probably why I am most comfortable writing in those genres. The way I see it, I have to work and live in the present, I think projecting myself into the future or the past is a form of escape for me. Maybe that’s why I tend to choose those settings for my books.
Jane: How does your writing process work?
Jean: I hardly ever make notes and when I outline the initial plot of a book it is never more than two or three hundred words long. Of the four books I have written, the endings didn’t come to me until I was about half way through. I do admit to finding that the most difficult part to write. I am like a gardener as a writer, scattering seeds throughout the story and sprouting them as I go along. My characters constantly surprise me at the decisions they make and how they react to the various situations that I put them in. I love the research, particularly for HF, but I have to be careful not to spend too much time doing that. The internet is so helpful in that regard but can be very distracting and lead me off in a completely different direction. Apparently a finished book should be “First draft minus 10%” I think Stephen King said that – it’s very true in my case. A more structured writer might have less to edit out.

Links to Jean Reinhardt’s Books:

Finding Kaden: Amazon.com   Amazon.uk   Smashwords  Youtube

Finding Megan: Amazon.com   Amazon.uk   Smashwords  Youtube

A Pocket Full of Shells: Amazon.com   Amazon.uk   Smashwords  Youtube

Follow Jean on twitter and find her on facebook.

Thanks for interviewing me, Jane. Here are a some more  authors with very interesting answers to the above four questions.

Laura Crean

Marie Lavender

Helen Ingram

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in authors, Blogging, books, emerging authors, Writers Resource, writing tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: ‘My Writing Process’ Blog Tour | <3..........Laura Crean...........<3

  2. Johnb323 says:

    You are my inspiration, I possess few web logs and rarely run out from to brand. ddffedcbfedg

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

