Fond Memories of Ann B. Davis

 Photo courtesy MSN Entertainment Canada.

Photo courtesy MSN Entertainment Canada.

I was sorry to hear that Ann B. Davis had died, I have fond memories of her character, Alice Nelson. Thinking about the long running show she was such a big part off, got me wondering if the Brady Bunch and Alice had some sort of influence on me as a child.

I used to watch the show regularly and Alice was always there dropping a one liner or picking up laundry. We had no boys in our family, all girls – four of us – and I used to imagine that we had four brothers, just like the Bradys, plus one. Mine was a twin called Tony. That’s as far as it went, no voices in my head (shut up, Jan) and we never had a housekeeper like Alice to pick up our stuff. Sure that’s what mothers where there for, weren’t they?

I don’t think so. I remember with my own kids, trying to hoover a Lego covered floor (having given the usual fifteen minute warning). They would wait until the last minute to see if I would really carry out my threats to suck up those expensive little pieces of plastic. You’ve never seen kids move so fast once the first block disappeared up the pipe. I learned that one from Alice.

I know that Ann B. Davis leaves a legacy of entertainment behind, but I will always associate her with a certain dish – meatloaf. I don’t believe it was cooked in the average Irish household at the time, at least not in our house. I saw Alice cook so many meatloaves it made me want to try it. When I did get round to preparing it for a dinner I was really disappointed to find out it tasted just like minced beef held together with gravy. Maybe I should have another try but with a different recipe.

Just to remind you of what a cool lady Ann B. Davis was, here she is in this video clip, still picking up things but this time it’s a passenger (or is it two?)

Ann B. Davis Trucking With Jan and Jan

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in entertainment, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fond Memories of Ann B. Davis

  1. I miss Alice and had never seen this clip! Thanks for posting!

    Like

  2. Euphonos says:

    Miss Alice.
    Brady bunch is one of my favorites of all time 🙂 Thanks for sharing this, Jean.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

