Amazon, Hachette and Me

Amazon, Hachette and Me

Will books become victims of the fallout?

I have looked at both sides of the Amazon versus Hachette debate as open mindedly as possible and I’ve decided to be biased. This weekend I am going caravan hunting  because I earned the money to buy one from my book sales on Amazon. I have been helped every step of the way in my venture into self-publishing, by the advice freely available on both Amazon and Createspace. They have always been quick to respond to any of my emails. I am eternally grateful to the readers who bought my books and likewise to Amazon. If I were not able to self-publish, very few people would have read anything I wrote. Amazon helped me to realize a life long ambition. Of course it’s in their best interest for me to sell books, but it’s also in mine, too. Once my work started selling, thanks to my pathetic attempt at marketing and to those generous enough to buy it, Amazon got behind me and promoted my books – without charge. I didn’t even have to ask them to do it and they never deducted anything from my share of the royalties for the service.

High prices won’t affect me as I will never charge them for my books and I don’t buy any that are in a high price range – that’s where my local library comes in handy. Just as Hachette’s authors are remaining loyal to them, I am being loyal to a company that has supported me and I don’t believe they will be detrimental to books.
The Gutenberg Press made books available to people at a time when only the very wealthy could afford them. The translation of the Bible from Latin into the common language in Luther’s day meant the ordinary person in the street could read from a book that had been previously chained to a pulpit, written in a language only the well educated could understand. That’s called progress. Books flourished, readers grew in numbers and look where the book world is now. Are we on the brink of a literary Armageddon? I don’t think so, but if that IS the case, when the smoke clears, you will find me tucked up in my caravan (courtesy of You-Know-Who), clutching my kindle to my bosom and surrounded by the last remaining paperbacks that survived the ‘Abookalypse’.

See what Amazon has to say here.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in authors, Blogging, books, emerging authors, writers, Writers Resource and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you.

