Thursday Doors

Opera House Budapest

opera house budapest, Thursday Doors, travel, hungary

opera house budapest, hungary, travel

I know I’m always going on about Budapest, but it really is a fabulous city. For this week’s Thursday Doors, I’m posting a couple of photos of the Hungarian State Opera House. We just didn’t have the time to visit all the places on our list as we were only on a five day stay, so I never got to see inside the building. I did find a couple of photos online, to give you a glimpse of the interior (courtesy of wikimedia.org).

opera house budapest BudapestOperaHouseInterior

On our city break, we stayed only a couple of streets away from the Opera House, in the Opera Garden Hotel and Apartments and I cannot praise the service or the helpful staff there highly enough. Great value for money, too. Around the corner from the hotel, we found one of Budapest’s many kerts (ruin pubs). This one was called Most where we spent three out of the four evenings we had in the city. The food was lovely and at a very affordable price (especially the cocktails). I did get a quite a few photos of the interior of that particular building.

Most kert pub, budapest kerts

It was a pleasant surprise to step inside Most and see the bookshelf wallpaper, I felt very much at home there, surround by such a literary theme. The rest of my photographs are not quite as clearly focused – after all, I did say the cocktails were good value for money, didn’t I? Check out the photos on Norm Frampton’s site for more Thursday Doors.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in castles and ruins, entertainment, food, Historical buildings, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    Excellent choice Jean. An impressive entrance way and I just love that view from the balcony.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Great doors and I love the additional photos!

    Like

  3. pattimoed says:

    Hi Jean. I love that interior shot. So, I’m assuming I should put Budapest on my “to do” list?!!?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beth says:

    The more you “go on about Budapest”, Jean, the higher up it goes on the travel wish list:0).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a magnificent building is the Budapest Opera House. I arrived in Budapest in 2013 with no expectation and I was blown away!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sartenada says:

    I love Opera House photos very much.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

