Thursday Doors

Click images for larger view

For me, on Thursday Doors this week, red is the colour. Everywhere I went a red door beckoned and I had plenty to choose from. At some time, here must have been a discount at one of the local hardware stores on that particular colour. I love the three matching doors all painted the same and the decorative silver railings that compliment them. The last photograph, on the right, is of a typical Irish half-door.

old car photo,

Up until I was three years old, we lived in a tiny house with a half-door and a corrugated tin roof (the original thatch having been removed). The seashore was directly across the street and by leaving the bottom half of the door closed and locked, my parents could prevent me from wandering outside and into the water. The sunlight and fresh, briny air entered the house from the wide open top half and I’m sure that every so often, my mother picked me up to wave (or more likely shout) at the passing neighbours. Keeping in line with my chosen colour this week for Thursday Doors, that’s me in the photograph wearing my little red boots.

Check out some more doors on Norm’s site and click the link at the bottom of his post for even more fabulous doors.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Ireland, photo challenges, photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great red doors and hey, everybody loves a cute baby pic!
    😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    These are beautiful doors. I do like red doors. Lately, I finds myself leaning to blue, as people have posted some amazing blue doors, but that first one on the left is tipping the see-saw back a bit Jean. The half-door is interesting. I met my wife across one of those. She worked in Office Accounts at a consulting firm I was hired into. I had to go there to complete the new employee forms and they had a half-door with a shelf on the lower half so they could conduct business without letting us in.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the image that brings up, Dan. You leaning across the half-door, chatting up your wife. Romantic. I’ll never think of half-doors again as a means of keeping adventurous toddlers inside, but more for keeping young men out. 😉

    Like

  4. agenda19892010 says:

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

