Thursday Doors

McSwiggan's galway city restaurant

For this week’s Thursday Doors I’ve posted a few more Galway shots from a recent trip there. I actually ventured in through some of these doors and enjoyed both the food and the wine. There are lots of scrumptious menus in the various eating establishments around the city. It’s difficult to say which are the best so one just has to try them all. I’ll be going back to finish my research soon.

The award winning Blake’s Bar and Brasserie on the Corner has a wonderful mix of plush, old world style furnishings, resulting in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The lunch menu is certainly a notch above the usual pub grub and I had duck cakes on a bed of salad (a change from my usual soup and brown bread). This is more of a restaurant than a gastro-pub and the dinner menu proves that, with its fabulous seafood and steak dishes. The off-license next door is part of the Galway Whiskey Trail, which I must sample first in order to give an accurate account of its many varieties of Uisce Beatha, the Irish words for Whiskey, which means Water of Life. But that’s for another trip.

Alas, I couldn’t sample an evening meal at Blake’s as we had planned to eat dinner at another one of the city’s well-known restaurants, McSwiggan’s (pictured above), where I had a rack of lamb that melted in my mouth.

For more mouth-watering Thursday Doors have a look at what Norm has to offer and click the blue button at the bottom of his post.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in food, Ireland, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Beth says:

    Jean, from your post I almost feel as though I got to visit there also! It has reminded me of all the wonderful pubby places we stopped at in Ireland with our then-young daughter and friend. Think I’ll go visit Norm for a bit more of the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jan says:

    McSwiggarn’s door is quite impressive – I’ll have to remember it if we ever get over there to Ireland. My husband loves lamb!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice choices this week! And thank you Jean for making all those sacrifices for us in the name of ahem, “research” 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    That is the image of an Irish Pub that I keep in my head. I would love to visit. Great photos Jean. Please continue thise research.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jesh stg says:

    Thanks for visiting my Thurs. door!
    Lamb – delicious! Was reading your “About” … your last name is German …am Dutch but lived for one year in Berlin, and I knew someone whose first name was Reinhardt. Thanks for sharing your trip and the lovely pics!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s nice to meet you, Reinhardt is my husband’s family name. His g g grandfather came to Ireland late 1800’s from what was then Prussia. Neither of us have ever been to Germany but it’s on the bucket list.

      Like

  6. I never tire of your doors and doorways, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Handsome doors, beautiful window boxes, and delicious food and drink – now there is a winning combination for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. yhealthy2000 says:

    Yes, definitely, these doors have strong character. I love them. It would be fun to take door photos. Enjoyed reading your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes, Jean, I want to go there, eat there, drink there, photograph doors there. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I made sure I took the photos before eating and drinking, Janet, otherwise they may have been a bit lopsided. 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

