Thursday Doors

Youghal strand

There are some fabulous Victorian houses along the Front Strand in my home town of Youghal and I thought I would take a nice long walk along the beach and get a few shots for Thursday Doors this week. The exercise was good but unfortunately the fresh sea air only increased my appetite and I arrived home hungry and ready to eat, which defeated the purpose of walking off those calories. I did manage to stop myself having dessert though.

Judging by the amount of seaweed strewn about the place I would say there was quite a high tide this morning along with a very choppy sea.

youghal strand

With the view they’ve got, I don’t think the residents mind too much about some fertilizer landing in their front gardens on a stormy day – as long as it stays out of the house.

youghal beachAnd now for a little bit of history about an unexpected visitor to the area in 1946. My apologies for the bad quality but I snapped the image below from a noticeboard on the beach. I’ve enlarged the photo so you can more easily read the content.

ww2 plane irelandFor more Thursday Doors pay a visit to Norm’s Blog and check out the link at the bottom of his post.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, History, Ireland, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, victorian ireland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love the colorful buildings and the evidence of living so close to the coast. The sunset photo is my favorite (I love it when the sun’s rays break through the clouds). Thanks, too, for sharing the RAF history. Great job today Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marianallen says:

    What pretty houses! I love the rounded arches of the windows and doors. Beautiful pictures, too, of the high tide evidence and the sea. You live in a beautiful place, Jean — but I’m sure you know that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a fabulous place to live, Marian. We’re planning on moving next year to be nearer grandchildren, so I’ll miss it a lot, but seeing the family more often will make up for that. 🙂

      Like

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    Lovely brightly coloured houses with some wonderful doors. I love that beach shot too but I’m not so sure about living that close to the shore if the water comes that close to the houses 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jan says:

    What an interesting tale! I guess the pilot didn’t want to disturb the sheep?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What beautiful homes! I love row houses and how each one is similar to the next and yet through paint colors and other details the residents make them their own.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Geert Smits says:

    Great blog. Nice piece of history!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. klara says:

    uuu, beach at your doorstep for walks!!! how great is that! lovely buildings.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such beautiful photos, it sure looks like a lovely place to live Jean x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely colourful houses and doors Jean – love the bit of local history too!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I like the color of the houses and the history, too, Jean.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love how the architecture may be similar but the colors chosen make each one stand out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

