Thursday Doors

DSC_1285

A man in a kilt is included in this week’s Thursday Doors.

DSC_1280

He was standing very still on Shop Street in Galway City and I hadn’t time to wait and see if he would play some music. I would say his cosutme was Dutch because of the wooden clogs next to his stand – but I could be wrong. Does anyone know the nationality or the instrument? Oh, and the door was quite nice, too. It’s part of a castle.

Lynchs_Castle_Galway-pic cropped

Lynch’s Castle was acquired by Allied Irish Banks in 1930 and restored to its former splendour. A carved doorway was added in 1933, the work of L. Cambell, a Dublin Architect. The building hasn’t really changed that much over the years.

Part of the Lawrence Collection, Galway Library

Part of the Lawrence Collection, Galway Library

Galway-Lynchs-Castle old image

Photograph from Library Ireland’s website

On another street an interesting door caught my eye because of it’s size, particularly in relation to the windows.

DSC_1315

To show you how small this doorway actually is, my sister obliged me with a pose. She’s five foot seven, so you can see how low that arch is. The green door behind her was set back to give more head room.

DSC_1314

For some fabulous Thursday Doors have a look at Norm’s blog and click the blue link on his post.

Source 1 Galway Library

Source 2 Library Ireland

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in castles and ruins, Historical buildings, History, Ireland, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Lovely – style, surround, and window box. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I really like the low arched entryway. Thanks to your sister, as she provided the scale necessary to truly appreciate that entrance. She fits perfectly πŸ™‚ I’m also glad to see the =m keeping the top building in such great shape. Nice doors today Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jean, I love that first shot and the window box as well as the door. I’d love to have window boxes someday and working shutters.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’m not sure what that instrument is called but that sure is a wonderful shot of a beautiful old building, and men in skirts are always good for a chuckle πŸ˜€
    Those small doors are fun too – great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. At first I thought that gentleman was a statue!! I love how he is standing up on that little podium. Lovely door today as well, Jean!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. jan says:

    Maybe it was a door for leprechauns!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joey says:

    I also thought he might be a statue. Love these doors, and their beautiful stone buildings — thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Geert Smits says:

    What can I say? I just love Ireland! Have to. My wife is a musician in a … Irish folkband. Is fearr Gaeilge briste, nΓ‘ BΓ©arla clΓ­ste πŸ™‚ And no. I don’t speak Gaelic. Neither does she. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. marianallen says:

    Beautiful building, and how lucky you were to score an extra door AND a man in a kilt … er, I mean, a musician. I always wondered what a hurdy-gurdy was, and now I know. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. dimlamp says:

    Very interesting contribution, with that hurdy-gurdy and the clogs. Maybe the small door should have a sign for leprechauns only or leprechauns only need apply. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Helen Jones says:

    I thought it might have been a hurdy-gurdy as well πŸ™‚ Lovely doors, Jean – that castle is an intriguing building.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. klara says:

    hahahaha, I first thought the man in a kilt was a statue. it is funny to see a door that is almost smaller than a window.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Kashpals says:

    Ireland is fabulous with all these unique series of doors. The last one is particularly interesting. .

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m keeping my eye out everywhere I go for tiny doors. Trouble is they are often so small that any cars parked outside them get in the way of a good shot. 😦

    Like

  15. pattimoed says:

    Intriguing doorways, Jean. I have no idea what instrument that is in the photo. I suspect the clogs are clue. Have a wonderful holiday and new year! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

