Life on Mars?

Jan 10, 2016 is the day the music world lost one if its greatest artists. I was surprised at how deeply this news affected me as I wasn’t exactly a life long fan of David Bowie. He had a brilliant capacity to reinvent himself as the decades went by and some of his later works didn’t always appeal to me, but he will forever remain a huge part of my teenage years. His music filled my tiny bedroom whether I was happy and experimenting with the latest Mary Quant make-up or feeling down, sitting in the darkness clutching Tony, an old threadbare teddy. I played his songs on a record player that my parents had bought me for my thirteenth birthday. It looked something like this one, wish I still had it.

old record player

This video shows just how long and diverse David Bowie’s musical career has been.

I’ll leave you with one of my favourites. I’m typing this post while playing it and my six year old grandson is singing along. That’s how timeless Bowie’s music is, passing on from generation to generation. It saw me through the angst of those early teenage years and appealed to my emerging sense of social injustice. Thank you David, not just for ‘Life on Mars?’ but for the excitement, comfort, motivation, diversity and inspiration your creativity and music brought to the world. RIP Mr. Bowie aka Ziggy Stardust.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Music, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Life on Mars?

  1. I wasn’t a huge fan but I still enjoyed some of his music and, like you, teenage years were full of it. As I’ve just said to Beetley Pete, hearing his music brings back some good memories and as Pete and I both agreed, he was a decent man. Sad. Too young.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. inesephoto says:

    Heartbreaking. Terrible loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. He left us far too soon. The world has lost a hero today, but I’ve decided he is now the Patron Saint of music. His music will live on.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. marianallen says:

    Thanks for this post, Jean. He totally rejected the concept of “branding,” redefining himself as he pleased and being brilliant at whatever aspect he chose to present.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your reflectionsite about Bowie. Found him strange until MTV played his videos in the 80s. I am always touched when I hear his Christmas duet with Bing Crosby from the 90s?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kash Pals says:

    Love the Christmas duet with Bing Crosby. RIP Mr.Bowie.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

