The Slum

Image for the slum

Are you as tough as your ancestors? Would you like to find out firsthand what it was like to live in one of the slums of the Victorian era? Well, now’s your chance, thanks to BBC Two. Those ‘lucky’ enough to be chosen to participate in The Slum living history experiment will start off in the 1860s and journey through the years to the welfare reforms of the early 20th century. They will learn what life was like for their unfortunate forbears both at work and in the slums they called home.

You can read more about the project here and if you feel brave enough, follow this link to find out about being a participant.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Britian, History, social issues, society, victorian society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Slum

  1. sjhigbee says:

    Urgh! No! I don’t need to think about this one for more than a heartbeat… I’m a historian by training and all too aware of just what a grim existence it was. I daily give thanks for freely available clean running water, central heating, effective sanitary products, washing machines, plentiful books and music whenever I want them… Nope. Not for me! Thank you for the offer, though:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susielindau says:

    That sounds horrid. Not for me, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jan says:

    Oh golly – I studied Victorian lit so I know I’m not brave enough. Love the picture of the little lad.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I think I’d pass, even if I was near by.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joannesisco says:

    It would definitely be a negatory for me! I know the challenges endured by my parents and grandparents. I can’t imagine wanting to relive that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pommepal says:

    Love the photo of your grandson, he looks very Victorian, almost like a character out of a Charles Dickens story and the sepia tint is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

