Thursday Doors

 

rory gallagher place 2016. d jpg

I’ve chosen an interesting part of Cork city for this week’s Thursday Doors, a place that has a connection with probably the greatest guitar player to ever come out of Ireland. The door above belongs to Saints Peter and Paul’s presbytery and school, built in 1879 by Robert Walker. I’m not sure if it still houses a school today but it is the presbytery for Peter and Paul’s parish, the church being nearby. I did notice a plaque about marriage counselling on the door. I took some shots at different angles as I worked my way round to the side of the building, to what was formerly called Paul Street Plaza.

rory gallagher place 2016.jpgIt was renamed Rory Gallagher Place in October 1995 in honour of one of the world’s greatest musician. He grew up in Cork but was born in Ballyshannon, county Donegal on 2 March 1948 in Rock Hospital (very appropriate name for a musician) where there is another Rory Gallagher Place. In fact, there are many locations that pay tribute to him.  There’s even a Rue Rory Gallagher in France, in Ris-Orangis, in the southern suburbs of Paris, where he played his last French concert just months before he died. In Dublin there’s a Rory Gallagher Corner and in Belfast they have a memorial plaque at Ulster Hall.

 

200px-Rory_Gallagher_1982

As he got older Rory developed a phobia of flying and to help him cope with this, he received a prescription for a powerful sedative. The medication, combined with drinking alcohol resulted in severe liver damage and, although unwell, he continued touring. His final tour had to be cancelled as he was so ill during his performance in the Netherlands on 10 January 1995. On being admitted to King’s College Hospital, London in March 1995, the extent of his illness became apparent and doctors advised that a liver transplant was his only option. Rory was in intensive care for thirteen weeks after his surgery and plans were being made to transfer him to a convalescent home, when he contracted MRSA and died of the infection on 14 June 1995, just 47 years of age. He was unmarried and had no children.

Rory Gallagher received an award in 1972 for International Guitarist of the Year and his albums have sold in excess of 30 million copies worldwide. When asked in an interview how it felt to be the greatest guitarist in the world, Jimi Hendrix replied, “I don’t know, go ask Rory Gallagher.” Now that’s a tribute.

Thank you for your visit and if you would like to see a selection of Thursday Doors from around the globe (or participate yourself) head on over to Norm’s blog and click the blue link at the bottom of his post.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in entertainment, Historical buildings, Ireland, Music, photo challenges, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Awesome doors! I love arched entryways. And thanks for the interesting history.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great door, and wonderful history of Rory Gallagher too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice doors, Jean. And, thanks for posting the Rory Gallagher music. Wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t really a big fan when I was younger but I always appreciated what a brilliant guitarist he was.

      Liked by 1 person

      • matthias carolan says:

        I never knew roary Gallagher and could not care less
        why anyone would name a street after a drug addict alcoholic
        what an example to our youth

        Jean’s reply:
        Hi Matthias, valid point about the example. Many talented musicians/writers/artists are recognized today for their creativity in spite of bad personal choices with regards to their health. It was alcohol, not recreational drugs, that caused Rory’s ill health and the mix of prescription drugs he was on was a fatal combination.

        Like

  4. dimlamp says:

    The arch and columns certainly add to the doors. Thanks for the info on Rory Gallagher, although I think Hendrix himself was the best in the world, in a league of his own. After Hendrix though I’d choose Eric Clapton, he still rocks! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. joannesisco says:

    Interesting history lesson on Rory Gallagher. Sadly, I’d never heard of him before. My opinion of Jimi Hendrix however, just leaped up several notches. He was already legendary, but I had no idea he was also a class act.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. jan says:

    Such a tragic story – I’m afraid of flying too but I try to stay away from drugs. Great guitarist! I had heard his name but not for a while. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    To be honest Jean, his name is familiar but I can’t say I know his work; I don’t remember him getting much airplay around here, but you’ve inspired me to go back and do a little more reading on him.
    Oh, and would now be a good time to say that that door in the first pic Rocks?!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sabiscuit says:

    So beautiful, Jean. I love Thursday doors. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tnkerr says:

    Great photos, great doors, and I stuck around for the concert at the ending too!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. prior2001 says:

    Dan had my comment exactly – arches and the rich history!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I like the door, but what a sad story about Rory! I don’t enjoy flying as much as I did in the pre-TSA days, but even though I say that, I usually have good flights and good times. But then I’m always going places I want to be, which makes all the difference. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Shelly Bray says:

    Great doors and what a cool backstory! Rory Gallagher doesn’t ring any bells with me, but for Jimmy Hendrix to think so highly of Rory really speaks volumes!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. pattimoed says:

    Hi Jean. Great story about Rory G. Another shining star in music whose life was cut short. Can you imagine a band comprised of all these amazing talents who died too young? What a loss for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think we appreciate the tremendous pressure these artists often find themselves under in the course of their career. It can look quite glamorous but I would hate to live my life constantly under the spotlight, having to participate in such an exhaustive round of tours in one country after another.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Such interesting doors, Jean! I love Dublin and Florence in part for their wonderful doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. inesephoto says:

    Great tour! Cork city does have an assortment of remarkable doors. It was fun to learn that Rory Gallagher was born in the Rock hospital 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. HippoLogic says:

    Love the brick buildings in Europe, something I realize missing here in Canada

    Liked by 1 person

  17. frenchc1955 says:

    Thank you for following my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

