Illustrating the Tower House: A Guest Blog (sort of)

Curious about the interior of an Irish tower house in it’s day? Read on.

Roaringwater Journal

Tower House Full View

There’s this brilliant young man, JG O’Donoghue, who combines the best qualities of researcher and sketch artist to produce outstanding illustrations, especially of heritage subjects. I’ve been a fan of his on Facebook for a while, but recently I saw the full extent of his talent.

Path to a Castle

Kilcrea Castle, Co Cork

You see, he’s done this job on tower houses. I’ve been studying tower houses for a while, especially the tower houses of West Cork (see my posts here and here and here) and recently I gave a talk about them in Ballydehob. So I recognise accuracy when I see it, as well as a meticulous attempt to be true to both published accounts and his own close observations. He has generously allowed me to use his drawings in this blog post, as well as his own words, slightly edited to fit the length of a blog post. So this is…

View original post 2,042 more words

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Writers Resource. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Illustrating the Tower House: A Guest Blog (sort of)

  1. inesephoto says:

    I think that a great example of such a house is Bunratty Castle in Co Limerick. It is open for tourists – a great place to spend a family day out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bunratty Castle is fabulous, my first visit there was on a school trip, I think it was about 1968. There’s a tower house here in Youghal and a lovely one in Quinn, county Clare at the Craggaunowen Project.

      Liked by 1 person

      • inesephoto says:

        There is a well-preserved one near Kilsheelan, on the Waterford-Limerick Road. Bunratty Castle is a great place as a museum, with very carefully selected items of the interior. I have only been to Kilkenny and Malahide Castle, they are very atmospheric too. Will check out the Youghal Tower.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just googled the Kilsheelan one. It’s in great condition, I haven’t seen it before, thanks for letting me know about it, Inese. The one in Youghal is called Tynte’s Castle, I wrote about it on my blog last year, https://jeanreinhardt.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/thursday-doors-3/ and there’s a link at the bottom of the post that gives a lot more information.

    Like

  3. matthias carolan says:

    is that a fox you got in your hands

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

