Thursday Doors

dsc_0572.jpg

Continuing on from last week’s Thursday Doors, these photos are of the stables and servants quarters at the back of Fota House. Standing in the center of the courtyard, surrounded by such lovely old buildings, it’s quite easy to imagine the activity that would have taken place there on a daily basis.

dsc_0575-1.jpgdsc_0573.jpgdsc_0586-1.jpgdsc_0612.jpg

Notice the ‘living roof’ on the tiny green tool shed? Lots of moss everywhere, on the roof tiles and across the top of the walls. I think it adds to the quaintness of the place. One of the Β doors had Β a very nice white marble doorknob that would not have been out of place on the servants’ entrance of Downton Abbey.

There are signs of work being carried out in preparation of the season’s opening in April, as you can see from the Polyfilla box sitting in one of the windows.

On leaving the courtyard, through another archway, I followed a path which brought me to the back of these buildings and found a wonderful selection of old doors, most of them needing a wee bit of TLC. I’ll post those images next week, hope to see you then and thanks for stopping by. To view some more doors from around the globe, pop over to Norm’s blog and click the blue link at the bottom of his post. Why not add some of your own? The more the merrier.

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, Ireland, photo challenges, society, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Such wonderful doors and archways and windows. I can see that they are in need of some care, and I don’t envy the people who have to do that work. I don’t know how you repair stone and masonry, but I can’t imagine that it’s an easy task. The photos present a wonderful image of what must be a lovely place to spend some time. Thanks for bringing us back, Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Dan. I could have stayed there all day and as it’s a quiet time of year (the tourist season hasn’t begun yet) there were no other people around to remind me of the present. For a short while I felt as if I’d been transported back in time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Love, love, love! I would have enjoyed this doorscursion with you! What a fantastic place πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    It must not be easy keeping up some of these older places, but it is sooo worth it. The three arched stable doors are my favourites in this collection.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another example of buildings and grounds that would be wonderful for those who lived there and not so much fun for all the minions who had to keep everything running and in shape!! πŸ™‚ Lovely.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Too true, Janet. I can’t make my mind up whether I would like to be among the minions or the masters. I hate pomp and ceremony but then again I love having weekends off and regular holidays. Hmmmm…….. I think I’ll give the time machine a miss and stay put. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. joannesisco says:

    Your photos do a great job of capturing the feeling of standing in that courtyard. I have a fondness for arched doorways. I imagine at some point, there might have been great wooden doors in these archways.
    Such a lovely place to visit and let your imagination run wild.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dimlamp says:

    Quite a collection, I like the weather-beaten buildings, the moss certainly adds character to the doors and surroundings.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kevin Hughes says:

    Such fantastic photos! I find these much more interesting and compelling than the photos in the Fota House online gallery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Kevin. They do seem to be more interested in showing off the grand manor than the stables and courtyards but I really love checking out how the workers lived as opposed to the gentry.

      Like

  8. Love the green stable doors, and moss growing on the roof and walls. It adds a natural patina to the stone. I also love the horseshoe on the door. I’ve had a horseshoe over my front door since we bought our house back in 1982. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. yhealthy2000 says:

    Oh, I love this one. I, finally may have something to post:) This picture inspired me somehow! I love doors that keep opening one after another. I feel free! πŸ™‚ Silly but true. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. pattimoed says:

    What a beautiful collection, Jean! I love those green arched doors. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh I love this – I can just imagine the bustle in that courtyard in days gone by!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jan says:

    What is Pollyfilla? Looks like it must have been a lovely place at one time – that round window is certainly curious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! Polyfilla is for sealing cracks in plaster, around window frames for example. I have no idea what that round window is for but I’ll make sure I find out when I’m on the guided tour, Jan. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  13. jesh stg says:

    All your captures here exude the marking of time. Love your description of the “living” roof:) I’ve seen roofs in Scandinavia (It might have been Norway) where they grew “something” on top of the roof on purpose (may be as an insulator to keep the heat in?

    Liked by 1 person

  14. klara says:

    it is nice that you could enjoy the space without crowd. I would have loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Love the green paint color. We have a barn built in 1840 and you can see that same color green under a couple of other coats of paint on the barn door. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think that shade of green is one of those old vintage colours that heritage societies recommend for those old buildings. In our town there are certain shades of red or blue or green that are acceptable on heritage buildings but there are other colours that are definitely not permitted.

      Like

  16. facetfully says:

    Love the history here…well, except for the modern toilets sign, but then historically, those were around too!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. pommepal says:

    This place is filled with character I can almost imagine the ghosts of years past floating around.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. As always Jean I enjoy your lovely pics and perspective! What a fascinating place this looks to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. mysm2000 says:

    Quaint and delightful doors and doorways. I always love a courtyard full of townhomes β€” kind of a mews. I like the horseshoe on the one door. Thanks for sharing your lovely photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Love the arches and rounds and I can hear the horses hooves and carriage wheels Jean! What a job they have keeping that lot in order though, hope the budget is generous! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  21. How I love old buildings!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Ali Isaac says:

    Lovely old buildings! Love archways. .. they invite you in to discover what’s on the other side, dont they? Especially love tree arches and tunnels.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. When I saw your photos, I immediately thought, “This has to be ireland.” My sister-in-law has a place in a very similar state, which once belonged to the Waterford family. It’s not in such a bad state of repair, but certainly needs a lot of TLC.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. litadoolan says:

    I love the very different ways the archway looks from different angles. Clever captures.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

