Time: Lessons From The Dying Brain

‘The past and the future are both real. The present is a psychological illusion’ – I found this a fascinating concept. Quite a long post but very intriguing if you’re interested in how the brain works.

A Holistic Journey

The starship engine spins in winged centrifuge. The growing list of tasks in the mission multiplies its rotational speed and efficiency as the system expands tirelessly to accommodate demands.

That is my brain. THiS is HIS:

A white hum. The wheels are happy in their easy dance of movement and stillness. Any information that streams in faster than homeostasis approves activates the self-preservation mechanism. EJECT. EJECT. The data overload leaks through a sleek aperture, which physiology translates into IN ONE EAR, OUT THE OTHER.

My husband’s brain is a fascinating piece of machinery. It refuses strain. Barring any unforeseen tragedy, he will likely outlive me because he lets go of the past easily, does not fret over the future, and functions in a simple, elegant neurological circuitry that permits only one claim upon his attention at any given time. I have yet to try to be like him…

View original post 1,336 more words

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Writers Resource. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time: Lessons From The Dying Brain

  1. jan says:

    I agree Jean – an excellently written and interesting post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never thought on this one. Interesting. My husband also is way more easygoing than me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always thought it was just a simple male versus female brain. I multi task, my husband single tasks. I hear every sound while he hears what he chooses. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

