Thursday Doors

For Thursday Doors this week I’m still  in Fota House and Gardens in Cork. These images were taken of the back of the courtyard buildings.

dsc_0609.jpg

On leaving the courtyard to check out the rear of the buildings I was delighted to find the place devoid of any visitors. For some reason the movie Labyrinth (starring David Bowie) came to mind when I saw this big old creeper. I think there must be a scene with one very similar in it.

img_20160228_003909.jpgdsc_0590.jpg

The doors could do with more than a lick of paint.

On the other side of the courtyard I came upon this lovely old pump, standing in the middle of a large grassy area that I assumed was the orchard. It was close to a long building that was probably for storage of food and supplies, as the windows were tiny and barred.

Here we have a few more doors from around the estate and a cute little window thrown into the mix.

Many thanks for stopping by and if you would like to have a look at what other contributors to Thursday Doors have on offer, swing by Norm’s blog and click the blue button at the end of his post.

 

 

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, Ireland, nature, photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. facetfully says:

    Some great doors in an eerily lovely place. On one hand it feels creepy and on the other hand quiet and calm.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim says:

    nice pics. I like seeing shots like these.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jan says:

    The labyrinth is right! I can almost see Bowie there!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    The doors are beautiful, even the ones that need a bunch of tender loving care. It seems like such a wonderful place to wander around. Thanks for bringing us along.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jesh stg says:

    Yes, these doors could use some paint, and the walls could have a new finish too:) but then it wouldn’t look so quaint around there! Enjoy your weekend! Have the feeling I know you much better, after your post about the brain:):)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice one Jean – I’m sure I cold spend a few hours wandering around that place with my camera. There’s a lot of texture, mood, and character in these shots – well done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jean, I’m really enjoying the walkabout. I feel a bit like I’m at Downton Abbey. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  8. pattimoed says:

    If these doors could talk….lovely images and backstory.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So lovely – I really enjoy your photos. And so many door opportunities in one place!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. inesephoto says:

    Great place for photography 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That’s a really big compliment coming from you, Inese, so I’m delighted. My husband has a ‘proper’ camera with all the bits n bobs needed to take a good quality photo, but I can just about point it in the right direction, so I have to rely on my phone.

    Like

  12. HangryFork says:

    What great pictures! I’ve never heard of Fota House and Gardens but I’d love to visit someday.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I have such a soft spot for old buildings and doors! Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  14. marianallen says:

    O, O, O, I love these buildings all so much! They make me want to flap my arms and fly right over. If only. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

