Plot Generator

Benches can be great places to generate plots for books, plays or movies. Taking time out to reflect, daydream or people watch can allow the seed of a story, poem or even a song to take root. However, thanks to technology, you no longer have to leave the house to do this.

Chris, The Story Reading Ape, shared a link on his blogย to an online Plot Generator and I couldn’t resist trying out a short story. I made up my ownย pen-name, instead of using the pen-name generator. Having supplied some keywords, I then waited to see how the story would read – it was nothing like I expected but I did have a good laugh at the result. Even a title and book cover was ‘generated’ for me. There are links on the site if you want to make up the lyrics to a song or even create a movie script. Go on, give it a go – you have nothing to lose but your dignity, as you will see if you read on. (That’s why it’s best to use a pen name, lol)

 

Two Loving Uncles Crying to the Beat

A Short Story
by J. M. Hart

Fran O’Neill looked at the brittle bag in his hands and felt confusing.

He walked over to the window and reflected on his surroundings. He had always hated grassy noisy Dublin with its comfortable, cheerful canal. It was a place that encouraged his tendency to feel confusing.

Then he saw something in the distance, or rather someone. It was the figure of Rosie Byrne. Rosie was a romantic hypocrite with slender hair and dark hands.

Fran gulped. He glanced at his own reflection. He was a stoic, stubborn, beer drinker with stocky hair and angular hands. His friends saw him as a smelly, smiling soldier. Once, he had even saved a kindhearted eggshell that was stuck in a drain.

But not even a stoic person who had once saved a kindhearted eggshell that was stuck in a drain, was prepared for what Rosie had in store today.

The rain hammered like struggling dogs, making Fran hopeful.

As Fran stepped outside and Rosie came closer, he could see the excited glint in her eye.

Rosie gazed with the affection of 4513 brave ripe rats. She said, in hushed tones, “I love you and I want decision.”

Fran looked back, even more hopeful and still fingering the brittle bag. “Rosie, choose between us,” he replied.

They looked at each other with sad feelings, like two horrible, handsome horses breaking at a very forgiving funeral, which had violin music playing in the background and two loving uncles crying to the beat.

Fran studied Rosie’s slender hair and dark hands. Eventually, he took a deep breath. “I’m sorry,” began Fran in apologetic tones, “but I don’t feel the same way, and I never will. I just don’t love you Rosie.”

Rosie looked hurtful, her emotions raw like a numerous, narrow newspaper.

Fran could actually hear Rosie’s emotions shatter into 4679 pieces. Then the romantic hypocrite hurried away into the distance.

Not even a drink of beer would calm Fran’s nerves tonight.

THE END

Many thanks to The Story Reading Ape for introducing me to theย Plot Generator
About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Blogging, emerging authors, Humour, short stories, writers, Writers Resource and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Plot Generator

  1. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Well done Jean – She tried the Plot Generator I mentioned earlier today and the result is … Interesting … ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL! Oh my, some of the descriptions are very odd…slender hair? Stocky hair? Who describes hair like that? Oh this one, “Rosie looked hurtful, her emotions raw like a numerous, narrow newspaper.”
    What? Hahahaha! Funny, very entertaining and fun read this morning.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. tessbloggs says:

    Another great read! Cheered up my day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Ouch. I fell off my chair and must have hit my head. Hyenas and turnips and turnips anyone? At least it’s entertaining, at worst, a penman shall protect the innocent. o_O

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I laughed so hard, I repeated myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This made me laugh all the way through! Now… must go and find some kindhearted eggshells to save ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’d never even heard of such a thing so it just shows how far outside the loop of knowledge I am !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This looks like great fun, Jean, so I’ll certainly give it a try. Interesting, if a little bizarre story.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Haha its fun. I actually tried it just now. Thanks for introducing it. I have got so funny story. I hope I publish it later.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kash Pals says:

    Love the description of Rosie, a romantic hypocrite with slender hair and “a kindhearted eggshell” was hilarious. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hemangini says:

    a kind hearted eggshell? hahaha Awesome plot hatching here. Loved how you took simple things and turned them into a story. Keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jazzfeathers says:

    I’m very surprised that the story even have a sense. I tried the synopsis. Well, it did have a sense, actually… a very cliched one. I think your story is more interesting ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  13. litadoolan says:

    I have to say I love this detail ‘Rosieโ€™s emotions shatter into 4679 pieces’. I like the way the story turned out lean and sharp too. The narrative always knows where it’s going. I think I like the machine!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

