Thursday Doors

dsc_0428.jpg

The last of my Fota House and Gardens images for Thursday Doors are of the Arboretum. I could see it in the distance as we left the main house behind us and I knew for sure there would be a door or two waiting for me at the end of that path.

dsc_0429.jpgdsc_0430.jpg

Did I say one or two? As I drew closer I counted seven.Β Well, to say I was ecstatic is an understatement – I know, I’m easily pleased but this is Thursday Doors we’re talking about.

Who says orange and fig trees don’t grow in Ireland? They do if you have an arboretum (sounds painful). Not having one myself I must make do with the imported varieties but it was nice to see a home-grown version. All seven doors were locked (at least the four I tried were – I had to stop as I was beginning to feel like a burglar). I thought I might have more luck at the rear of the building (typical intruder’s next step).

dsc_0440.jpgdsc_0444.jpg

Nope, doors locked here too. Well, at least I tried, but I did manage to get a nice shot of the interior through one of the panes of glass.

dsc_0443.jpg

From this angleΒ you can see Fota House in the distance.

Well that wraps up my three week series from Fota House and Gardens. Thanks for stopping by and if you’d like to see some interesting doors from other parts of the globe, head on over to Norm’s Blog and click the blue button at the end of his post.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, Ireland, nature, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. What a lovely place and the Arboretum is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Callie says:

    This is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. facetfully says:

    What a great place! Thanks for sharing the WINDOW too! I find I also like windows and have started a World Windows part of my blog. Maybe you want to join in? https://facetfully.com/2016/01/30/world-windows-january-30-2016/
    I have not made it a big deal, as noted in the first post, but if it grows, I may bring it in line with something similar to Norm’s Thursday Doors.
    Have a happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Lovely. I enjoyed your burglary references πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One very large building with lots of doors – good catch. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful green house!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jesh stg says:

    Oh, the last view is just perfect and beautiful! Such an attractive place. In Southern California where I lived for 3 decades, we had 3, about 1-2 hrs. away, Really miss that in this area (am living in the forest at 3000 feet).
    On another note, happy St Paddy’s day , which is mostly over for you now:) )

    Like

    • Thanks for your lovely comment. When we first moved to Spain the orange blossoms made me sneeze every time they came out. After a couple of years I got used to them and loved their scent. We used to collect the Seville Oranges that grew on the streets in our area, to make marmalade. Yummy.

      Like

  8. jan says:

    Such a lovely place – too bad the doors were locked! Happy St. Patrick’s day!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jesh stg says:

    I should read my comments better – you live in Spain? My son just got an internship for 5 months in Barcelona (because he’s at an international university in Holland) – are you close? And we had our honeymoon in Malaga -the S. coast. – – I loved the siesta time there – it’s like you have 2 days in one:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, siesta is a bit like two days in one. We did live there, in Alicante on the Mediterranean coast, for almost eight years but we’re back in Ireland since 2008. Our town was about two hours south of Barcelona. We went to Malaga on a day trip when we spent a weekend in Nerja. The castle was fabulous and we had hot chocolate and churros at the top where there was a wonderful view of the port.

      Like

  10. socialbridge says:

    Hi Jean, lovely post of Fota. It’s a delight.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I enjoyed the three week tour, Jean. Let us know if you get arrested for breaking in and we’ll all come over and get you out. πŸ™‚

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  12. klara says:

    very nice series on Fota House and Gardens. lovely place to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    Thanks for the tour Jean. I wonder if there are times when it is open to the public.
    I’m glad you didn’t set off any burgler alarms πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Kash Pals says:

    Beautiful place. Love the orange and the fig tree. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Very nice, seems very peaceful there.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dan Antion says:

    This is a very beautiful building Jean. I love the little arched window too. I had to smile as I imagine you going from door to door trying find an open one.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Now that really is a doorfest Jean! Looks like a beautiful place – perhaps you’ll go back and try again in summer?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great word to use, Jane. Doorfest – I think I had a slight touch of ‘indoorgestion’ that day. I’ll definitely be going back there in the summer and hope to have a tour of the inside of the house then.

      Like

  18. inesephoto says:

    Such a delightful place!

    Like

  19. pattimoed says:

    What luck! 7 doors. Lovely grounds and home.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

