Thursday Doors

dsc_0726.jpg

The Market House in Mullingar, County Westmeath, has a lovely door and beautiful windows and I thought it would make a nice contribution to Thursday Doors. Inside you’ll find the local tourist office and a military museum. The man on the podium in front of one of those arched windows isn’t waving at us as we pass by in the car, it’s a statue in memory of one of the biggest international stars to come out of the Irish Showband era.

Joe Dolan statue Mullingar

Joe Dolan, born in Mullingar, was the only Irish singer to reach the Top Ten in all four decades of the ’60s, ’70s, ’80s, and ’90s. The youngest of eight children, his mother passed away when he was only eight years old and his father seven years later. Although not very well known in America, in 1980 he played 64 shows in Las Vegas, selling out most of them. It was in Ireland and the UK were Joe did most of his touring and on mainland Europe, too – in fact, in 1978, he became the first Irish artist and one of the first Western acts to tour, what was then, communist Russia. The Irish music industry lost one of its best when Joe Dolan died in December 2007, aged 68.

dsc_0725.jpgdsc_0724.jpg

Black, white and red doors seemed to jump out at me as we drove through the various towns on our way home from visiting family over the holiday weekend. All the shots were taken from the car (through the glass in the window as it was way too cold outside to open it – even for Thursday Doors) so I do apologize for the quality.

dsc_0719.jpgdsc_0743.jpg

The cloud formations were so beautiful they kept me enthralled for most of the four hour journey home. (I know, I’m easily entertained).

From time to time a piece of art would catch my eye but I only got a half decent shot of one the four ‘Saints and Scholars‘ roadside sculptors near the Tullamore by-pass. They represent County Offaly’s monastic past and are the work of Derry born artist, Maurice Harron.

dsc_0722.jpg

Each twenty-five foot high steel figure is on an elevated site and is depicted holding a symbol of the world of learning and sanctity. One holds a book, one holds a chalice, one a staff and one throws aloft a flock of birds or souls. Looking at the last two photographs, maybe I should have titled this Thursday Outdoors.

For a little bit of nostalgia (if you remember the ’60’s) here’s a nice little video I found on Youtube of Joe Dolan and The Drifters Showband. (I love the advertisement for the shoes at 0:23).

Thank you for joining me on my  travels this week and if you would like to view more Thursday Doors,  pop over to Norm’s blog and see what he’s posted. (Click the blue link on his page for a variety of interesting doors).

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Ireland, Music, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Great collection of doors. I love the first building and the fact that it includes a military museum. My kind of place to be sure, Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joannesisco says:

    I love your Irish tours! This looks like it was such a beautiful drive. Unfortunately on these longer drives, there is a reluctance to stop, look around, and take photos … especially if the weather isn’t cooperative.

    I really like that castle (or church?) with the red door. Turrets get me every time!! … but also the old style cross on the top. I know it has a name, but it escapes me right now.

    Like

  3. Thanks for another fascinating tour, Jean, although I’m appalled that you wouldn’t get out in the cold for Thursday Doors!! 🙂 I love cloud formations, too, so I completely understand being enthralled by them. There were some stunners yesterday morning at the park when I walked.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very colourful collection of doors. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Really neat tour! I love clouds too. That church with its great red door was really beautiful, and the sculpture was neat too.

    I’m impressed that you made such good images while the car was going. I have a really hard time with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wouldn’t go out in the cold for Doors?! Clearly we need to toughen you up – perhaps a winter or two here in Canada are in order 😉
    All kidding aside, thanks for the lovely tour. That church or castle with the red door was my favourite.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joey says:

    Oh I love that red door with the arch above.
    I, too, can be entertained by clouds for a substantial length of time 🙂

    Like

  8. Sign of a good day-dreamer, Joey. Apparently, day-dreaming encourages creativity and when the weather warms up, I shall be flat on my back in the garden working on my creativity. 😉

    Like

  9. jan says:

    I have heard of Joe Dolan – he played in Reno Nevada as well (or perhaps it was up at Lake Tahoe). Lovely cloud formations but they do look cold!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jesh stg says:

    Love both the Market place and the red door of the Gothic church …and the sun is shining:):)In California that’s not a big deal, but I know in the UK and the N. part of W-Eur. it is! If you knew how many pics I have of clouds – one more pic of them, is my addiction:) – and now I live in the country, also sunsets:) Have a great weekend Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joanfrankham says:

    Love the post, and miss Joe Dolan – there’s no show like a Joe show! If you ever get the chance, go and see the play ‘The night Joe Dolan’s car broke down’ It is hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. dimlamp says:

    Interesting potpourri of photos this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. tnkerr says:

    Great doors! And, by the way, speaking of being easily entertained – I can play with a pencil for hours.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Great drive by shots (of the doors and scenery); here’s an idea, we should arm the gangs in the USA with cameras instead of guns so when they do their “drive by shootings” no one get’s hurt and they can add to the culture rather than be destructive. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. socialbridge says:

    Jean, you really caught my attention with Mullingar as we lived there for a year when I was young but old enough to know how big a star Joe Dolan was.
    Love your photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’m glad you played along even through a car window! That red door in particular is a beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. inesephoto says:

    Oh, I remember the Saints and Scholars from my last trip, but there was no way for me to stop and take a picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Helen Jones says:

    Oh I’ve been to Mullingar! I remember the Joe Dolan statue – there were ladies waiting and taking turns to have their photo with ‘him’ and we had no idea who he was. I had to Google him when we got to our destination 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  19. pommepal says:

    If you hadn’t mentioned the photos were taken through the car window I would not’ve guessed they are very clear. The red door is a beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Ali Isaac says:

    I love that sculpture on the hill! It was one of the things I first noticed when I came to Ireland, the number of sculptures alongside main roads and motorways, always non traditional even when depicting scenes from folklore, and always thought provoking. I realised then that the Irish are a very creative, artistic people who love their music, dance and sport, just like our distant Celtic ancestors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love that about the road journeys, too, Ali. We have carved totem poles just outside Youghal and they’re lit up at night. I must get a shot of them. One of my favourites are three life-size black and white cows on the exit roundabout for Fermoy (off the N8 to Cork). I keep missing them but next time I’ll be ready.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. facetfully says:

    Great post from another who is “easily entertained”.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. pattimoed says:

    Thanks for the road trip, Jean. My husband and I are planning a trip there in the next few years, so we’ll make sure to get your thoughts on the ideal road trip. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

