Thursday Doors

dsc_0145.jpg

Sorry, no old buildings or architecture on offer for this week’s Thursday Doors. Instead I felt the building that houses Derry City & Strabane District Council offices deserved to be featured as it fits in very nicely along the waterfront – and it has a red door.

dsc_0146.jpg

In the regeneration of the city’s riverside area, this was the first civic building to be located there. A local firm, Tracey Architects, designed it with a large central entrance hall which is glazed front and back to allow magnificent views of the River Foyle. The inspiration came from a previously demolished old warehouse, with granite cladding and natural slates being used in the structure, in line with the brief given to the architects. Here’s a close up of the entrance – the biggest red door I’ve photographed so far.

dsc_0144.jpg

At the end of the street I spied a few more doors worth snapping and I just had to include them in this week Thursday Doors.

dsc_0143.jpg

Okay, okay. I know I said there would be no old buildings in my post this week but they just sneaked in. I was taking a shot of the building looming behind them and they sort of got in the way – well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Why not have a look at some fascinating doors from around the world by clicking the blue button on Norm’s Thursday Doors post?

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Ireland, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Is there a revolving door behind that? I can’t figure out how it opens, but it is seriously red – that much is established!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jesh stg says:

    Had to smile – this building and door is so opposite from what you have shown before. But I like it, -has the feeling of a fort/bastion. The architect made sure it was seen!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Amy Sampson says:

    Love the big red door!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jan says:

    I didn’t have any old doors this week either – the red doors (?) are very futuristic, aren’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dimlamp says:

    Impressive door, the contrasts of the building structure and the door are quite arresting.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joey says:

    Well I love that old building, and I’m glad it sneaked in 🙂
    That big red door is fantastic! I can’t imagine how it works. I wonder if there’s a revolving door inside. I don’t know how I’d feel about a closed in revolving door, might be scary! lol
    The way you captured that scene from the waterfront really demonstrates how much it stands out. Very clever. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, I can hear an airlock type of sound when that red door opens like the sound the doors make on The Starship Enterprise. 🙂 Cool entry this week! I too love that old building you got in too.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. socialbridge says:

    Love that red door, Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kash Pals says:

    Fantastic and a very futuristic red door. Impressive entry for this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The red cylinder like is a door? How cool! Never seen anything like it before.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    Now that is a cool door – very futuristic looking. Nice one Jean. Variety is good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. facetfully says:

    Here you have given us a very unique door!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Matt says:

    Oh wow, I love that third photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Doors is doors! 🙂 Nice pics.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Wild bright red rounds doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. marianallen says:

    What a beautiful old building! And that red door is really intriguing — it does look like a darkroom door.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

