Guitars Gently Weeping

I hoped it was a hoax and even scoured the internet after Snopes declared the news as true.

What a loss, what an unbelievable loss. There are many weeping guitars around the globe today. I think this is a very appropriate video to share as a tribute to a great musician. Prince, Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood and others perform at the 2004 Hall of Fame Inductions. It’s one of my favourites. A stage full of extraordinary musicians. A Prince among his peers.

‘While My Guitar Gently Weeps’

R.I.P. Prince Rogers Nelson.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Writers Resource. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Guitars Gently Weeping

  1. quarksire says:

    how so very apprapo…he will truly be missed …. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jan says:

    That sound always brings me to tears, especially today. I was so glad I actually got to watch George Harrison perform this song in person – but this video is incredible. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Perfect. *lays flowers down*

    Liked by 2 people

  4. sjhigbee says:

    I couldn’t agree more – my son is absolutely devastated. We were watching this clip earlier, together:(… My thoughts are with his family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. HangryFork says:

    I am gently weeping too! What an amazing talent! I’ve seen that video before but tonight watching it gave me chills. The music was flowing through Prince, what an amazing performance!

    I cannot tell you how many times I have tortured my four kids singing Prince songs to them in the car, my personal favorite, “Kiss”. The first three years of driving our oldest to high school I’d blast “Kiss” in the truck with our three younger kids in tow. Lol they loved it… not so much.

    I’ve said this for years, but the older I get the more I dig Prince. Back in 1983, I was getting ready to graduate 8th grade and I can remember my friends all making me decide who I liked more Michael Jackson or Prince, apparently I couldn’t like them both equally. I choose MJ, and I still love all his music but man I really love Prince. I’ve always regretting choosing MJ. I remember feeling extra rebellious as a Freshman in high school and getting ahold of a copy of Prince’s “Erotic City” on tape, man I really thought I was something! Haa!

    I heard something on XM’s 80’s on 8 this afternoon while I was picking up my red headed daughter from college that really stuck with me. A caller called in (I think it was MTV’s original Vjay Martha Quinn) and said, “We’ve lost so many amazing musical tallents this year already, David Bowie, and Glenn Frey.” Then she said, “But we shared David Bowie and Glenn Frey with other generations, Prince was our own, he belonged to us.” Aww and there it is…. I feel it too. MJ and Prince are both gone, I feel so old!

    Thank you so much for posting this tribute to Prince! It really means a lot to me!

    Shelly @ http://hangryfork.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. VocareMentor says:

    Wonderful video. I had not seen it before. Thank you for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ali Isaac says:

    I never knew he could play guitar like that@ 😲😲😲

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

