How I learned that grandad executed Erskine Childers

August 24th 2016 is not only the centenary anniversary of the Easter Rising but it is also the day that the people of Ireland will fill in their census forms. David Lawlor’s post shows the importance of this task as a record for future generations.

historywithatwist

Do you know where you’ll be on April 24? Maybe not, but chances are you might just find yourself huddled over a form, answering innumerable questions about your personal life. Filling in the census may not be the most exciting of pastimes, but it sure is important. Without all those statistics it generates, we’d be lost in terms of planning for the future. Just as importantly, though, we’d be all at sea when it comes to the past, too.

The census proved invaluable when it came to discovering more about my grandfather, Michael Lawlor, as part of a family history project looking at his role during the War of Independence and Civil War.

Michael full image 2 Michael Lawlor

I’d heard some snippets of stories about Michael, but not much of substance, so I decided to do some digging. I started my research with the national archives, specifically the census figures for 1901 and…

View original post 1,188 more words

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Writers Resource. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How I learned that grandad executed Erskine Childers

  1. inesephoto says:

    Thank you for sharing! Family history is a great project everyone should start right now 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Researching my family history is how I was inspired to write my first historical fiction, Inese. There’s an abundance of stories in everyone’s family – good and bad.

      Liked by 2 people

      • inesephoto says:

        How inspiring! There is a lot of distortion when we look back, and the concept of good and bad is too generalized to be much of value when we speak about a person living in different times. It is not up to me to judge people, but it is up to me to preserve the information and all the detail I have obtained. History is a great source of knowledge.

        Liked by 2 people

        • That’s why eyewitness accounts from all sides are so important. I think with this year being the centenary anniversary of the Rising, a much more balanced approach is being taken with how it affected the community at large, the rebels themselves and the soldiers brought in to quell the rebellion. Even the death of so many children is being remembered and given due regard. Pity it took a hundred years to come about. This is the history I would have loved to have been taught in school.

          Liked by 2 people

          • inesephoto says:

            I agree with you. History has to be honest, not attractive.
            Children were of little value those days (remember Tuam). If we want our posterity to learn something from our history, the first thing we have to leave them an honest factual account.

            Liked by 2 people

  2. jesh stg says:

    How interesting! Didn’t know who the person was you your grandfather and others shot, so curious me, I looked at your original post. Am pleasantly surprised what you all found out!
    Before we moved to the US, we one time went to St.Germain which is a suburb of Paris to find out about my mothers background. They looked at city hall for 4 hours at records and could not find anything. There are several St.Germain’s, so from this side of the pond and my very limited knowledge of French, I probably have to let it go.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I imagine the language barrier coupled with distance would make your task almost impossible unless you hired a French speaking genealogist over there to do a search for you. Can be quite expensive if they have a lot of ground to cover. Good job most of us have two sides to our families, I had to switch branches on our ‘tree’ when I hit a wall.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. dancingshark says:

    you realy liked it on lucas blog it realy is weird

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

