Thursday Doors

dsc_0994.jpg

While in Ardmore, county Waterford recently I took lots of photos for the Thursday Doors series. So, to continue on from last week’s cottage murals, here are some of my favourites along with boats, bluebells and balustrades.

As we climbed the hill that led to where we planned on having lunch, we came across this little white cottage, its pretty yellow door looking out over the seaside village and sheltered beach.

At the top of the hill stands the Cliff House Hotel, with its fabulous vista and even more fabulous food from a Michelin-starred restaurant. For a five-star establishment the excellent bar food is great value at a very moderate price and I was so hungry after all that sea air and exercise, I wolfed it down before I remembered to take a photograph. I did, however take a shot of the butter, brown bread and condiments – note the seascape in the background. We could have eaten outside on the terrace but dark clouds were looming in the bay, promising to drop their load on us at any time. There wasn’t even a sign of any of the dolphins thatย oftenย entertain delighted guests.

The whole of the reception area, front and back, is glass so that all you can really see of the hotel’s doors are the handles. The stairs and its decorative balustrade lead down to the restaurant and bar, with many of the interior walls displaying the same stonework as the exterior.

dsc_1018.jpg

Empty tables on the terrace and a good job, too, as ten minutes later it bucketed down on top of them. ย I still have a few more photos from Ardmore to share on next week’s Thursday Doors but if you surf on over to Norm’s blog you’ll find a wide and varied selection to browse through. Thanks for visiting and taking the tour.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in food, Ireland, nature, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel, wild plants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Ruth says:

    Beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joanfrankham says:

    Lovely, I am going to do the cliff walk very soon, I believe it is very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Wow on that view! I could go for some Michelin-starred food right about now, too. And oh, the bluebells. So pretty!
    I love the yellow door, but I nearly forgot I was on a doors post — Well done! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco says:

    It looks like a lovely place to spend a day exploring. I love the yellow door with the heavy black hinges. It looks like a Dutch door – is it?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    Oh the view from the hotel patio! It’s gorgeous! That’s a great place to relax with food and adult beverage. I think I like the doors that lead to that patio best. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Those patio doors would be my favourite ones to walk through – if the weather hadn’t broken. We’re planning on another lunch there soon and hopefully we’ll be sitting on that patio next time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. jan says:

    I love Bluebells! What more appropriate sign of spring is there?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dimlamp says:

    I especially like those blue and yellow doors, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos, Jean. The doors and the flowers and the views are all so pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a lovely village! The yellow door with its hardware was really neat, and I loved the color of that first blue door.
    I’m so hungry for that brown bread and butter!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jesh stg says:

    What i love about glass doors are the reflections:) The stairs with its railing is beautiful, especially when I enlarged the view! At least you saw the water while eating! Sounds like you both had a nice and relaxed outing:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a lovely day out, thanks. I know what you mean about glass doors and reflections, it’s why I usually take shots of them from a side angle – to avoid my own reflection, lol. Did you spot the cat looking through the glass door in the first image? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  12. Prior-2001 says:

    Jean – wonderful variety – the little yellow door is fun 0 but also love the opening reflection one – happy weekend to you

    Liked by 1 person

  13. tessbloggs says:

    Lovely pictures, seems you had a really nice time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Norm 2.0 says:

    This look like a wonderful spot to stop, linger and enjoy the view. My fave is that yellow door.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ali Isaac says:

    Gorgeous pics, Jean! The Colour of the sea from that terrace is just amazing… looks almost Mediterranean, but I’m sure you’d quickly turn into a human ice cube if you jumped into it! ๐Ÿ˜

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sounds like you had a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. marianallen says:

    Okay, I MUST come to Ireland! Everything is just too beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

