Thursday Doors

dsc_1102.jpg

The sunshine over Youghal was so bright this week it almost got in the way of my Thursday Doors shots – as you can see from the image above. Some of the photos I took with my phone turned out so bright they’d blind you if I posted them. Mind you, I’m not complaining, we’ve been waiting a long time for those blue skies and warm days.

dsc_1160-1.jpgdsc_1161-1.jpg

There is a nice little dock along this street but as the weather was so good, many of the boats that moor there were out in the bay or upriver.

dsc_1164.jpg

dsc_1159.jpg

I’m sure this old building has a door somewhere but I couldn’t see it because of a high wall. I stuck my phone up over it to take this shot. Thanks for stopping by my blog and if you’d like to see a wide variety of interesting doors from around the globe, head on over to Norm’s blog – you won’t be disappointed. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Ireland, nature, photo challenges, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. jan says:

    Oh golly – I wish I was there! Here in San Francisco – June is often called “Gloom” because of the persistent fog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jesh stg says:

    Great sunny photos – at last! Yes, that’s what I noticed when in Holland the sun is shining, there seems to be more contrast, than the Mediterranean areas. It also may have to do with our eyes, suddenly having to adjust to more light?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love that last shot work. ๐Ÿ˜€ Well done. I had to do similar, through cracks in the wall, to see inside a 1200 yr. old mosgue.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Helen Bushe says:

    Fab selection of doors. God to see bright sunshine too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great doors! I love the last red one because of the lock and mail slot being so high – makes me think someone tall lives there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    This is a wonderful collection of doors and photos Jean.Ilove looking at these older buildings, especially that gem at the bottom.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dimlamp says:

    Lovely, colourful collection of doors, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joey says:

    Wow. So pretty. I love them all. That stone building though — gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. LindaGHill says:

    I had to put my phone over my head to get my door shot too. ๐Ÿ˜€
    I’ve always loved red doors. There’s just something about them… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Me, too, Linda. We recently bought an old house to renovate and I’ve already been looking at red doors – even though it will probably be next year before we get round to changing the front door, lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. Prior-2001 says:

    love the double doors and glad you have some dry days ๐Ÿ™‚
    let it shine on down…..
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joannesisco says:

    I really like your selection of side-by-side doors … all of them very interesting. My favourites though are in the 2nd photo. The red and ivory doors really complement one another.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Norm 2.0 says:

    Gotta love a nice red door. And despite the lack of door in that last shot, I still love that old building.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love the doors with the stained glass, probably give a nice effect indoors when the sun shines. Struggling with the sun shining bright sound familiar. On the one side we are so glad with those rays, on the other the contrast can be fierce and does not look good on a picture. Yesterday I had the same problem trying to capture a view from a window in a rather dark room. I’ll see what I can do with processing, so maybe I will post it one of these Mondays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We had such a grey winter that I’m willing to sacrifice the quality of my photos for the lovely sunny days we’ve been having. Maybe if I invested in a decent camera instead of using my phone I might not have the same problems, lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have a nice camera, but not a DSLR, especially because I want to take it with me everywhere I go and put it in my bag. Still coming to terms with Tv, Av, etc., though. But as long as we are having fun, it’s ok with me.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Those two sets of side by side doors are nice. I like the glass in the weathered yellow door the best.

    It looked like a lovely day to be out on a doorscursion!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. pommepal says:

    You must be so happy to finally have sun in your part of the world. Our endless summer just keeps on keeping on and it is nearly the time for winter, according to the calendar!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. inesephoto says:

    Lovely sunny days! Hope the weather stays like that. Youghal is a beautiful town, I love the lighthouse, and always marvel at the green and purple rocks when the tide is out.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Kash Pals says:

    Lovely collection of side by side doors. Here we having sunny days and waiting for the monsoon to set in.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

