Thursday Doors

dsc_1106.jpg

Before I began contributing to Thursday Doors I never really paid too much attention to the wide variety of doors in our town, it was the building as a whole that usually caught my eye. However, some premises have the most appealing and unusual doors and porches, in spite of the building itself being quite ordinary – like this fabulous blue and white one. Further along the street there is a wonderful array of colourful doors that remind me of my sister’s palette when she works on a painting. Have a look at this example from her Splash of Jazz collection and you’ll see what I mean.

dsc_1192.jpg

Those white panels and pillars really make the colours stand out.

dsc_1163.jpg

I just had to include this old warehouse with its faded red (or pink?) paintwork. Buildings, such as this one, were constructed to store grain from the ever increasing growth of the corn trade from 1750 to 1820. In fact, one of the streets is even called Store Street. Youghal’s revenue receipts were the third highest in Ireland by 1761. In 1769 Parliament granted £1,200 towards the cost of clearing Youghal’s approach channels and expanding the docks. At the close of the 18th Century, Catherine Street, Harvey’s Dock and Green’s Quay had been created. Nowadays, it’s more economical to locate warehouses nearer to airports and motorways but in the past, Youghal had a thriving maritime economy.

Thanks for reading my post this week, it’s part of the Thursday Doors series, created by Norman Frampton. To see what he and others have contributed from around the globe, check out Norm’s blog.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, History, Ireland, photo challenges, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Nice doors again. The first one has something Moorish to it and reminds me of Andalusian doors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s certainly an unusual feature for an Irish townhouse entrance. The house itself was built around 1780 but the door surround was added in the late nineteenth century.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You could be right about the Moorish influence. Marga. We saw a lot of similar doors in southern Spain, especially in Granada.

      Like

      • Oh, Granada! That is where I lived for two years when I was in my twenties. It was a wonderful time of which I think back frequently. Sunday afternoons I used to sit in the Alhambra trying to read, but that was no use with all that beauty around me. Now the big question: how come these Moorish traits are in the buildings you captured? Any idea?

        Liked by 1 person

        • The Alhambra is so beautiful, I don’t blame you for not being able to read while you sat there. That ‘Moorish’ entrance on the house in Youghal was added some time in the nineteenth century and quite a few merchants lived in those larger townhouses at the time. I think it was a well traveled owner that chose such an elaborate addition to an eighteenth century property. If I find out why they did it, I’ll let you know. 🙂

          Like

  2. socialbridge says:

    Love the old store house door, especially.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    These are beautiful photos Jean. I was going to say that I like the top door the best, set back in several layers, but I really like the warehouse at the bottom. I guess I’m a sucker for an old industrial look.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    You bookended this post nicely Jean. The first and last pics are my two favourites 🙂
    I too am discovering more and more about my surroundings though this adventure. It really is amazing how much beauty there is around us when we learn to slow down and notice it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dimlamp says:

    Wonderful collection Jean, in the first photo, I like the double archway to the door, and the other shots with the white borders really make the door colours stand out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That first blue and white door is quite exotic, and makes me think of the middle east or India even.

    Loved the history about the grain stores and that old brick building too!
    Another great selection of doors this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. marianallen says:

    Arches AND a recessed entry? Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. cwaugh212 says:

    I love the history commentary as much as the photos. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting. This town has so much interesting history attached to it, I’m ashamed to say I only know a fraction of it. I must do some more research this summer – while snapping doors, of course. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  9. jesh stg says:

    That is so unusual to have a double arch in front of a modern door. Of course it is also highlighted by the difference in color of the first arch. Moorish influence? And am surprised about the history of your last photo – never would have put Ireland and corn trade together! Have the feeling I’m getting to know much about Ireland’s history from you:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • When they talked about corn in Ireland and Britain in the past, I think the word covered various types of cereal crops, or grain. I read somewhere that oats barley and even wheat were all called ‘corn’ collectively in the old days here. We still grow a lot of maize, as animal feed, for home and export.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jesh stg says:

        Good you’re explaining it could be cereal crops or grain – I was thinking on maize.
        One of my (obstinate) Dutch friends came to visit us in the US. He refused to eat my corn on the cob, saying it was pig feed. Then when I had a salad with lettuce in it, he refused that too, since only rabbits eat that. I told him, just as obstinate (we’re good friends) that he would not do well in America.
        As a side note, here in the US they would say we were fighting, but since I’m Dutch I would think we were just discussing the matter:)

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lol! The Dutch must be a bit like the Irish, lovers of dairy and meat, with lots of bread thrown in. My husband calls lettuce and salad rabbit food, too. But he eats it because he knows it’s good for him. 😉

          Like

  10. Great selections of doors. I like the arches (even if they are not the doors) as they really dress up the doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What’s around that first door is what’s amazing and such a lot of great colors! Once you start seeing doors, you just can’t stop. 🙂 But what a great addiction!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  12. pommepal says:

    Just amazing the variety of doors you are finding around your area Jean the first one really appeals to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Love the pink ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. KamilaRose says:

    Lime green ones are my favorite on this post Jean 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Becky B says:

    That green one is bright!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Ali Isaac says:

    Some splendid doors, Jean, but my fave is the simple faded red of the old grain store. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This door post deserves an award for the colors of the rainbow, and I’ve never seen a pink door before. Wonderful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Wow. I wonder why we don’t see pink doors anymore.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

