Thursday Doors

dsc_1253.jpg

I missed out on Thursday Doors last week as I was on a boat near Belturbet in County Cavan, with no internet connection. However, that didn’t stop me from taking lots of photographs for future posts. This one is of  Belturbet’s old railway station, where the Tidy Towns committee hold a car boot sale on the last Sunday of every month. There are some great bargains to be had, particularly if you like to read – you get four books for €1. On my next trip I’ll be checking out the Visitor Center and Museum, as they were closed at the time.

There was a nice selection of doors.

dsc_1249.jpg

I’m not sure if the graffiti was accurate, as we didn’t venture into the toilets. Interesting that the Gentlemen’s just had an iron grill (well ventilated) while the Ladies had a nicely painted wooden door.

dsc_1246.jpgdsc_1248.jpg

dsc_1251.jpg

That’s not exactly nineteenth century garb on the ‘brakeman’, but he did find a nice old fashioned lantern at the car boot sale.

dsc_1250.jpgdsc_1254.jpg

dsc_1256.jpg

What’s a station without an engine? Not quite sure about the horse power, though.

dsc_1252.jpg

Belturbet Railway Station was part of the Great Northern Railway line and built entirely of local stone in 1885, remaining in operation until 1959. Apparently, it is the only Grade 1 station constructed entirely of cut stone. The buildings lay derelict for almost 40 years until the Belturbet Community Development Association purchased the ten acre site in 1995 and began the restoration – and what a beautiful job they made of it, too. The station master’s house is fully restored and available as a holiday let. This site has a selection of images of the inside as it is now, along with some old photographs of a time when the station was in use.

dsc_1262.jpgdsc_1242.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. More Thursday Doors await you on Norm’s Blog if you choo-choo-choose to pay a visit. 🙂

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Writers Resource. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joannesisco says:

    I noticed the unusual difference between the men’s the ladies’ room too.Great selection of doors. I like the small stone building at the end with its rounded green door and windows.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great doors. I love old train stations and I am glad to see this on saved and reused. Guessing that last photo was the “engine house’

    Liked by 1 person

    • There was a wide gauge track and a narrow one, which served the Cavan/Leitrim line carrying goods and animals. I think that last photo may well be the engine shed, or it could be the goods shed. I must find out on my next visit.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always rather fancied living in a converted Victorian railway station. The closest I came was as a child when we spent our summers in a converted Victorian railway carriage on the Isle of Wight that belonged to my grandmother – heaven. And it’s why I’ve chosen to live on the Island. My tenants move out today and after the cleaning and painting I’ve organised, I hope to move in in two or three weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Nifty doors! Loved the red train and the horse ‘power’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great doors, and find! I loved that old lantern.
    I’m happy to hear it’s been restored. I think it would be neat to stay there for a Holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Wonderful photos Jean. I love that last building! And, I love any photo with a train, train station, train-related stuff, so this one was perfection.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jan says:

    I just adore the trains in the UK! Gents are generally less modest than Ladies. We need our doors. ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great shots and some lovely doors Jean!
    Old stone buildings and train stations make a great combination. It’s wonderful to see they’re willing and able to preserve treasures like these.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jesh stg says:

    Somehow old trains and train stations are intriguing to me (maybe because as a teen that was my way of transportation next to the bike. Now I think of it, in W-Eur. there is much more built of stone than in the USA. Love that set of wheels too!
    Off this subject, thanks for your concern about the fire – you only know what it means if you have gone through the experience of a big one before! Have a lovely weekend -writing I suppose?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Gary buckley says:

    Gary buckley.
    I block paving this trail station.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

