Thursday Doors

dsc_1341-1.jpg

More like Thursday Gates than Thursday Doors this week, I’m afraid, as I got totally distracted by the flowers at Fota Gardens. On a grey, drizzly day last week, my husband and I decided to take a tour of Fota House, now that it’s open to the public. We set out with the best of intentions, after all, I was sure to find a great selection of doors in such a large old period house; with a bit of history thrown in from the guided tour. No better way to spend a wet afternoon in July, you would think – that is, until the sun came out. With no rain to drive us indoors it was hard to resist taking a stroll in the beautiful settings of Fota Gardens.

dsc_1384.jpg

You might be wondering where all those flowers are. Well, hold onto your sunhats they are just across that lovely green expanse of grass, at the rear of the house (that’s the back of it in the photo). A short walk takes you to the Pleasure Gardens and last time I was there, I had arrived too late and the gates were locked. Not on this occasion, thankfully.

Just behind that hedge, directly inside the gates, is the Italian Garden.

dsc_1345.jpg

dsc_1346.jpg

I wonder if Foscarini knew that his ‘well-head’ would end up in county Cork. We couldn’t get into the Italian Garden as the gate was locked but the rest of the area was a feast to the eyes with its beautifully arranged borders, enclosed by a lovely old stone wall.

Then we came to the Rose Garden, with a hedge dividing it from the borders, it took me a few minutes to decide which path to take but the roses won out in the end. After all, their petals were already beginning to drop, so they might not be there on my next visit.

dsc_1362.jpg

dsc_1364.jpgdsc_1361.jpgdsc_1372.jpgdsc_1378.jpg

I took a few more shots of the grounds on our way back to the main house, to catch the last guided tour of the day.

dsc_1354.jpgdsc_1343.jpgdsc_1342.jpg

Unfortunately, we spent so long in the gardens we missed the last tour. So, I now have an excuse to go back for another visit. I did manage to get a few photographs of the reception area and it’s lovely interior doors, which I’ll post next week. Thanks for looking and if you feel starved of doors after this week’s post, have a look at what Norm has to offer – you won’t be disappointed!

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in environment, Historical buildings, Ireland, nature, photography, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. jan says:

    I can see why you’d get distracted by the flowers – they’re beautiful. I love iron gates… Lovely.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    With all that beauty all around me I’d be distracted too. Looks like an amazing place to spend an afternoon. Nice doors/gates too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    The gardens are beautiful and I love the large iron gates. Good find, and a good “door” choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jesh stg says:

    There are some Gardens that never bore, this looks one of them! The gates are impressive! You have the knack to stir up curiosity – I am now about how the Italian Garden looks like! By all means, visit again, so we can see it through your eyes! And I love the close up of the striped roses.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. inesephoto says:

    Thank you for this excursion. I have only been to the Fota Zoo.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. klara says:

    how lucky you were with sun appearing. this is truly magnificent place.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. WOW, what a garden! I would have lingered far too long myself; probably with a macro lens, and my LensBaby.
    Looking forward to seeing what you share next week.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dimlamp says:

    The first gate is quite decorative, and the flower garden is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dennyho says:

    The iron gates to the Italian garden are fabulous. Beautiful pictures….

    Liked by 1 person

  10. joannesisco says:

    I can just imagine the smell in the air with all those roses! A lovely treat for what you thought was going to be a rainy day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Beautiful! Gates count, Norm told me so 🙂
    Amazing gardens, glad to have the vicarious journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kash Pals says:

    Beautiful shots. Thanks for the lovely tour. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Beth says:

    These are gorgeous, Jean! One could almost catch the scent of those flowers and the feel of those grounds. Really lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. marianallen says:

    Oh, my — how beautiful! I don’t feel deprived of doors AT ALL! Between the flowers and the gates and the openings, I’m QUITE satisfied. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Candy says:

    What gorgeous gardens! I love the gates and arches too.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Ali Isaac says:

    Wow! What stunningly beautiful gardens, and so are your pictures! I can see why you never made it indoors… best saved for a true rainy day, of which we’re sure to get many!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Jay says:

    Oh I just love a colourful garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. My dream garden. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

