Thursday Doors

dsc_0415.jpg

As promised last week, Thursday Doors comes from Fota House once more. No blossoms this time as I’m focusing on the building itself. This image is of the front and the following one shows the rear.

dsc_0426.jpg

Because we spent so long in the gardens that day (after all, the sun came out not long after we arrived) we missed the last guided tour of the interior of the house. However, I did manage to snap the reception area, with its beautifully paneled doors and windows.

From the outside, it doesn’t look too interesting, does it? Wait till you see the inside.

dsc_1335.jpgdsc_1336.jpg

Beautifully restored plaster work above the fireplace.

 

Paneled walls and paneled doors.

dsc_1337.jpg

The coffee and scones are delicious, too.

dsc_1338.jpg

Just look at the height of those windows.

If this part of the house is anything to go by, I can’t wait to see the rest of it. Apparently,Β the classical interior has been stunningly restored and the servants’ quarters are well preserved, giving visitors the feeling of having stepped back in time. As soon as I can plan another trip to Fota, I’ll let you know how far back it takes me. Next time, I’ll make sure to take the guided tour before losing myself in the ‘enchanted’ gardens.

Many thanks for stopping by and if you head on over to Norm’s Blog, you’ll find a link to lots of wonderful doors from around the globe. Enjoy.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, Ireland, photography, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    What a magnificent building Jean. That window is amazing! I’m sorry you missed the tour, but I’m glad you got some photos of the inside.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Gorgeous doors and AMAZING windows. I feel like if I had a window that large I’d sit in front of it all day. I kinda do, but horizontal, you know? Anyway, mine is not majestic and paneled and inset, and I imagine a majestic window must make the view even grander! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. socialbridge says:

    Lovely atmospheric shots, Jean. I adore the plasterwork.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the fireplace, mantle and wall, and the interior window shutters, and doors! WOW, what a find Jean. I would a tour, so will wait for your return. I have a feeling you’ll get back there before I get there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    So much to love about this place despite the bland exterior. Paneled walls, paneled doors, paneled ceilings (!) and yes those windows. Thanks for the tour Jean πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. msgt3227 says:

    I always look forward to my Thursday morning email because I love your Thursday Doors! Would you min if I reblogged this?
    Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  7. msgt3227 says:

    Reblogged this on Old Guy Walking and commented:
    Every Thursday I look forward to receiving an email entitled, “Thursday Doors” from Jean Reinhardt. I always tell myself I am going to start taking pictures of interesting doors I encounter, but s of yet, I still just wait to enjoy Jean’s!! This is her latest Thursday’s Doors posting….

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Handsome building, wonderful doors, but that window in the last shot is just amazing. WOW. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. marianallen says:

    What a beautiful house! I love the paneling. I’m a sucker for wood, I tell ya.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Vicky says:

    Lovely solid doors and portico, the building looks so elegant…love the way the windows are so low on the ground floor… you wouldn’t see that nowadays…what a lovely place to visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jan says:

    That’s quite a grand place! I wouldn’t want the job of window washer though!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jesh stg says:

    Love the details of the wood- and plasterwork here – especially the wood work around the fireplace. Hope they’ll put some coats of wax on the floor, that will really lift the whole ambiance a few more levels. Thanks for sharing ! Don’t know if your reply automatically directs you to my new url (since it’s both wordpress) – https://artworksfromjeshstg.wordpress.com/2016/07/20/happy-to-continue-in-july/

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This reminds me of the sort of homes about which our daughters, when they were little, would say, “Mom, wouldn’t you like to live in that house?” My thoughts immediately flew to all the work that would have to be done and as I have no servants, my response tended to be “No!” Theirs was that if I had the money to live there, I could hire someone to clean. πŸ™‚ Needless to say, our house and now our rental house, are much, much more modest!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! That’s kids for you. My girls used to say the same about big houses, with all that space and my response was exactly the same as yours. You should see the size of the house we’ve just bought – it’s tiny. Easy to heat, easy to clean, my ideal home. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve seen the tiny houses and our current rental house isn’t as large as the one we used to own. I want a house large enough to have people over or to stay comfortably for a visit as well as people over for dinner. I’d also like a room for a library. But nothing like a castle!!

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Aquileana says:

    Those doors seem to take in many stories, secrets and memories behind them… It is interesting how a door could come up with so many different ideas, through imagination and evocation…
    Beautiful post, dear Jean… sending love and best wishes. Aquileana g 😘 πŸ˜™

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

