Thursday Doors

 

dsc_1631.jpg

Still in Kinsale this week for Thursday Doors and it was very tempting to pop into Bruno’s for a Carbonara, only it wasn’t lunchtime.

dsc_1636.jpg

It’s a really quirky building (you can just see the end of it where the ‘Main Street’ sign is placed) and I had planned on taking a shot of it from another angle but was distracted by the amusing slate plaques on the wall opposite the restaurant.

I wonder who put them there?

dsc_1630.jpg

Only an Italian restaurant would have a Vespa in it’s window. We used to have one of these, many moons ago – a blue and white one.

dsc_1641.jpg

No, it wasn’t the red half-door that drew me up this street, but I do like that, too. It was the lovely old church, now used as either a private residence or holiday accommodation.

dsc_1644.jpg

dsc_1648.jpg

It had three fabulous doors – can you spot the third one?

Some more colourful buildings to finish off with. We eventually ate lunch in The Milk Market and I’ve included some of its interior shots in the slide show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for stopping by and joining me on the streets of Kinsale. Norm has some more Thursday Doors for your enjoyment over on his Blog and it’s always well worth a visit.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in food, Historical buildings, Ireland, photography, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Suvi says:

    I love the idea of the Milk Market, it looks so cute and cosy! Great signs you found and a vespa in a window – that too is super cute and so Italian. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. socialbridge says:

    Brilliant post, Jean. Kinsale is one of those places that never fails to serve up delights!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What lovely quotes about spaghetti, Jean. Kinsale looks an adorable place to visit. The ‘Bookstor’ shop looks an interesting place to look around.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wonderful post Jean. Kinsale looks like a lovely place to visit, and now I know where to go for Italian food if ever I do make it out that way ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cloudy, summer streets in Ireland, nothing like it. Great photos and, before you say it, I wish I was there

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like everything about this post, Jean. I’d love to visit here and eat my way through the town. ๐Ÿ™‚ As for carbonara, it’s one of my signature dishes, a dish I fell in love with when in Italy in the 70’s.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  7. yhealthy2000 says:

    Sorry, found it, whew!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joannesisco says:

    I love everything about this post … especially that old stone church. It’s gorgeous!! It looks like a tiny perfect treasure with the turret in the back. Great door too with that handsome hardware!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dan Antion says:

    Great post Jean. You gave us a wonderful selection of doors and some interesting other objects to think about. I do like the red half door though.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. joey says:

    Mmm, carbonara. It’s been a while, I think I’ll make some this weekend!
    Great doors, great quotes, what a pretty little place ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jan says:

    You can’t have an Italian eatery without a Vespa!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Vicky says:

    What a pretty place, some lovely doors( red, I always like red doors) and spaghetti…. nice combo!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. jesh stg says:

    That’s quite a statement from Sophia Loren! How interesting you chose an Italian eatery, while I have something about Italy on mine:)
    Was wondering that it would feel like to live in an old church (probably high ceilings, or did they make a loft? The door decoration of Stone Mad is quite artsy:)
    It looks like you put much work in this post:)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That lovely old church would have drawn me up the street as well! ๐Ÿ™‚ And of course all the red doors have my heart. I love a good red door! Looks like an amazing place to visit. -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great tour you took us on; can’t say enough about that converted church and its fantastic doors but food (or drink) enticements always gets everyone’s attention. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. dimlamp says:

    Very impressive collection Jean, well done! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Candy says:

    Absolutely love those red doors and window trim!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. inesephoto says:

    Beautiful Kinsale, fantastic blog post. You discovered so many interesting details, it is simply amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Kash Pals says:

    Love the Mik Market Cafe and the cute Vespa in the window.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Lovely doors, especially the bright red ones, and the Vespa too!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. What a lovely village! I love the red and white color them, but that little church was my favorite in this series. Mumm. Italian food! I’m ready for lunch now, and it’s only 8:55a.m! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve always wanted a Vespa. He-Man has said “no!” since I we got married about me getting one. He’s afraid someone will hit me and take me out. This coming a cyclist! Heavy Sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

  22. yhealthy2000 says:

    Hello Jean,
    Finally, I did it! I posted a my first door photo. I went to Norm’s blog to get the link up and I’m number 43. Yay!!! I’m very happy! Thanks for lovely door photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. yhealthy2000 says:

    Hi Jean,
    Back again with a question. I went back to InLinkz and clicked on #43….but message says that my site cannot be reached. What did I do wrong? Thanks.
    Yaz

    Liked by 1 person

  24. This is a very warm-hearted environment and post. Thank you, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. A lovely collection of various doors, Jean. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. dishdessert says:

    I liked your blog, I invite you to my blog:
    http://dishdessert.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  27. jesh stg says:

    Is this your last post, Jean? Didn’t see you at Thurs. Doors. Hope you’re doing okay:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve just posted one today. It took me ages because I had to do some historical research and I got lost in all the stories I found. Oh well, better late than never, as they say. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  28. joanfrankham says:

    Isn’t Kinsale a photographers dream with all those quirky places!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. I was surpised to see so many differnet styles and colours of the doors in Dublin. They make a perfect postcard to my memories of the trip I made last year to that joyful city. Love your pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

