Thursday Doors

dsc_1935.jpg

Thursday Doors comes from the Crawford Gallery in Cork City, this week. It’s a former art college that was built in 1884, ย funded by W. H. Crawford and designed by Arthur and Henry Hill. Part of the building was originally the city’s custom house, erected in 1774. The iron gates and railings are beautifully ornate and the work of a man called Watson.

dsc_1734.jpg

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The bell in the slide show stands at the main entrance and is the work of Vivienne Roche. Presented to the gallery in 1991 by the Friends of Crawford, it’s called the Viapori Bell and is made from bronze and steel, standing 263 cms (8’3″) high.

There are some very interesting sculptures on the ground floor of the gallery, which I’ve put into a slideshow. My favourite is the one in the blue and white shirt. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

‘The Canova Casts on display at the Crawford Gallery represent some of the finest masterpieces from the Vatican Collection. They were made under the supervision of renowned Italian sculptor Antonio Canova and include casts of some of his own works. They came to be in the possession of the Crawford Gallery in something of a circumspect manner, having first arrived at the London Customโ€™s House at the start of the 19th Century, before later being exhibited at the old Apollo Gallery on Patrick Street, under the care of the Cork Society of Arts. After the Royal Cork Institution took over the Cork School of Art they were moved to the Old Custom house, the building which today comprises most of the Crawford Art Gallery, where they provided students of art a chance to study human form and anatomy.’ *

Thanks for dropping in, I’ll be posting some more images from Cork City next week. There are more Thursday Doors to explore on Norm’s blog, you’ll find the links to them by clicking the ‘blue frog’ at the end of his post.

Source *

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Art, Historical buildings, Ireland, photography, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love the iron gates and fences and the bell, the bell is beautiful. Thanks for including the history, Jean, I always find that interesting to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jay says:

    I love a good garden gate!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jesh stg says:

    Beautiful building! The bell is quite different – love its shape! The statues got me thinking, if they were allowed in art colleges of the previous centuries to have nude models, like in this time. Thank you for sharing this interesting building with us, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dimlamp says:

    That’s an interesting-shaped bell, from your photo, it doesn’t look like it would be 8 feet.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    That’s a lovely place — great doors! ๐Ÿ™‚ Top photo gets top billing from me, but I also love that used-to-be door that got bricked up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the bell shape, and the gate! The sculpture in blue and white shirt…priceless! ๐Ÿ™‚
    How fun that your husband rang the bell. I would want to as well. I can’t resist making wind chimes sing. How wonderful that the bell had a lovely sound too!

    Thank you for the comment on my post today. I somehow deleted it when I began typing my thank you to you. I couldn’t get back to the undo fast enough. I wish I knew what key it is I hit that caused it to delete!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    A beautiful place, Jean. I like the yellow brick of the building. That’s not something we see here very much – maybe that’s why it’s caught my eye.
    And yes, the statue with the blue and white shirt is particularly well done ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  8. Matt says:

    Great shot, that first one! Reminds me of a dark fairy tale.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    I love that bell. The artwork in this place reminds me a little of what I saw at the museum in my post this week, except you were able to take pics.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the gate/s and fences, too, Jean. Thanks for including shots of the art objects.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ali Isaac says:

    That gate is georgeous, Jean! In fact, the whole building was pretty impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. prior.. says:

    Great doors – great art – and read your comment about only getting to second floor – I hear ya on the pacing and how we can only see so much at once! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

