Thursday Doors

dsc_2199-1.jpg

I’m starting off Thursday Doors with a red one this week. No surprise there, if you know my favourite door colour. This charming pub was established in the heart of Cork City in 1793 and since the day it was opened it has been a landmark in the city. Le Chateau is the only pub in Cork to be situated on Patrick’s Street. The red door in the image leads onto a first floor balcony that looks down on the main shopping street in the center of Cork city. The premises stretches around the corner and down a side street, so there’s always plenty of seating available – even on the busiest of days.

dsc_1727-1.jpgdsc_1725.jpg

There are lots of lovely places to eat and get a great cup of coffee in and around Paul Street, so that’s where we often stop off when we visit the city. This street also leads to the Crawford Gallery, which featured in last week’s blog. If you could see the amount of great eating establishments in the area, you would understand why I keep going back.

dsc_1764.jpg

This is a 19th century warehouse building on Paul Street. The Woodford has a history stretching back to 1750 in the wine and spirits trade. The building opened as a bar in the 1980’s, with some 6,900 sq ft in all, spread over five levels and with 2,400 sq ft at ground level. The food is good, too.

Here’s a slide show of some lovely doors and buildings around the city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We finally decided on a late breakfast and there’s no better place to find a good sausage than at O’Flynn’s Gourmet Sausage Company. We sat upstairs looking down at those people on Winthrop Street below, who had not yet made their minds up where or what to eat. It was easy to see by the way they sniffed the air that they were finding it difficult to make a choice.

O’Flynns have been in business since the early 1900’s, when their great-grandfather started making sausages in Cork. Over the years, they have been improving and building on old family recipes, always using the best locally sourced ingredients from the Munster region of Ireland. I’m not sure if this is the man himself, it was screen printed onto a table top, but the van is definitely authentic.

dsc_2190.jpg

Many thanks for stopping by. I’ll be posting more Thursday Doors from Cork city next week but in the meantime, why not check out Norm’s blog and see what he’s been getting up to. 🙂

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Art, food, Historical buildings, Ireland, photography, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel, Writers Resource and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    There’s no mistaking that first photo for anything other than a bar, Jean. I love that red door. And then,from bars to a sausage maker. I may have to visit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. willowdot21 says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, I nee it was Cork immediately! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jesh stg says:

    Looks like a fun area to take a stop and eat! Love the stair railing leading up to the white door – beautiful! Good you live where you do, and not here -I haven’t seen any bright red door …yet!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great stuff Jean. I love that shot of the Woodford building – especially the offsetting red brick around the windows. Nice!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. jan says:

    Seems like time has stood still in Cork – so Charming!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. socialbridge says:

    Gorgeous selection, Jean. For the first second, I thought we were in Cobh.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Candy says:

    thanks for this door tour 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joey says:

    Those are all so charming!
    I love the stick-a-needle-in-his-eye mural. Love those red doors. I think it’s time for a glass of wine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful narrative and doors! I’m hungry again! 🙂 I enjoyed the history, and red doors. I like the flowers over the windows, the stone buildings, and the color scheme of the BarBarossa. Gino’s looks rich! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sausages and Guinness. Life is good. I can’t decide which I like best. May I just enjoy them all? Thanks! 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to say, the sausages were delicious, Janet. My husband’s ancestors were pork butchers, originally from Prussia in the late 1800’s, and they had a secret sausage recipe for many decades. I think the name is still a brand, but his family know their sausages, so if he liked O’Flynn’s they must be good.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. dennyho says:

    Beautiful doors and great history lesson. Nice post Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Joanne Sisco says:

    Like Norm, I like the photos of the Woodford building and the contrasting brick around the door and each of the windows. I see the brick as yellow though, not red. Are my colours off? I like the look of the yellow brick – maybe because it would be so unusual here.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Matt says:

    I have been to a lot of pubs but am quite certain that I have never been to one that was around in the 1700s. I have to admit, it sounds cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s an even older one in Athlone, Matt, that I’ve yet to visit. Here’s what their website says about it; “When you walk into Sean’s Bar in Athlone, the oldest pub in Europe, you join the uncountable number of visitors who have been stopping here for a drink, a chat and maybe a bit of music for more than a thousand years.”
      http://www.seansbar.ie/home
      Definitely worth a Thursday Doors post. 🙂

      Like

  14. I think you got everyone’s attention with the sign, Bar, in the 1st photo. The rest of the shots were great after that wake up call!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ali Isaac says:

    Am partial to a red door myself, Jean. Always wanted a red front door all my life. Now I’m considering painting my brown door purple… my other favourite colour. Seen any purple doors out on your travels? Need some inspiration. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve seen a lot of purple doors, Ali, which surprises me. I love the colour purple (and the movie of same name) but it’s an unusual colour for a door – or so I thought before I started looking out for Thursday Doors 🙂

      Like

  16. Love the doors AND the window boxes. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

