Thursday Doors

A lovely red Thursday Door from Cork City this week . . .Β 

dsc_2043.jpg

. . . and a yellow one . . .

dsc_2041.jpg

. . . and a green one . . .

dsc_2040.jpg

. . . and a black one . . .

dsc_2039.jpg

This will take forever so here’s a slideshow πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are quite a few niceΒ balconies, too.

dsc_2044.jpg

This is one of four such balconies on the Camden Palace Hotel, which is now a community arts centre. The once derelict old building was taken over by a group of artists some years ago and it’s run as a not-for-profit venture, staffed by volunteers. Here’s what it says on their website:Β Camden Palace Hotel Community Arts Centre has been providing space and facilities to artists since 2009. Incorporating fields as diverse as painting, theatre, dance, film-making, music and photography, to name but a few, Camden Palace Hotel encourages and facilitates creative experimentation, idea sharing and collaboration amongst artists of all disciplines. We aim to encourage creative partnerships and collaboration between, artists, individuals, business, community groups and other public bodies, as well as to promote social inclusion and diversity through actively encouraging access and participation to all.

This is an older photograph of the building before the artists took it over.

SONY DSC

 

You’d never guess it was an arts centre.

dsc_2046.jpgdsc_2047.jpg

Thanks for visiting Cork City’s Thursday Doors and if you’d like to sample a wide variety of doors from around the globe, have a look at Norm’s blog and follow the’ blue frog’ link.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Art, entertainment, Historical buildings, Ireland, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. jan says:

    I like the yellow doors! So inviting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim says:

    the red door really stands out to me. nice post and pics. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jean, I liked all the colors of doors, but the contrast between the front of the arts center and the whimsical mural really tickles my fancy.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s what’s great about art, Janet. It can ‘stab your conscience’ or ‘tickle your fancy’ πŸ™‚ I like that they left the front of the building with it’s original facade but when you turn the corner the mural jumps out at you, it’s such a lovely, cheerful surprise.

      Like

  4. dimlamp says:

    What a lovely collection, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jesh stg says:

    Cork city must be thriving to have such beautiful doors (and balconies)! But the mural of the hotel – in my humble opinion – “ruins it!” I don’t know what they had in mind… (it also has to do with that I don’t include comics in art).
    How ar you doing by the way?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mind it on the side of the building as long as they don’t touch the front. Probably not allowed to by city planners anyway, which is not such a bad thing. We’re just about to go into Cork to collect our daughter at the end of her first week staying in accommodation while in college. I had suffered some empty nest syndrome while she was away. I caught up on all my housework and even made cushion covers. Now if I could just stop making dinners for three people…………. 😦

      Like

      • jesh stg says:

        Oh, am glad they can’t touch the front of the building!
        Children flying out of the nest is hard- yes, I recognize making dinners for that person. The good thing is that you eventually get used to rearranging your life. I think that is when soon after that I got more into blogging.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Sabiscuit says:

    Beautiful door, Jean. I hope you’ve had a great Thursday.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What energetic colors in the red and yellow doors. Nice photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. socialbridge says:

    Lovely to see such vibrancy.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. prior.. says:

    fun fun fun – the slide show was enjoyable – even tho i was ready to scroll. Like the yellow one most – not sure why – and the building art is way cool…. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I found so many colourful doors it was difficult to choose which ones to include – so I’ll be posting Cork City doors next week too, and probably the week after that. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • prior.. says:

        yes, I know about the spacing of doors and all – and Cork City is in the que
        but this was extra fun by the time you got to the third similar one – ha – and the slide show=s are a great help – I only recently started using them and wish I had done so sooner.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Joanne Sisco says:

    The artists have done a really good job of making the building look anonymous πŸ˜‰

    A great selection of doors. I especially like the yellow one. The colour is sunny and cheerful πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    The lot of them are wonderful! I think I’m partial to the yellow, but I do like how stately the first black one is as well. Great collection πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dan Antion says:

    I love black doors, and you have some nice ones. I like red doors too, but I love the Arts Center – those fish are so cute! What a lovely building, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a great facility for the arts in the community. The building was taken over by NAMA (National Asset Management Agency) a body created by the Irish government in 2009, in response to the Irish financial crisis and the deflation of the property bubble. The arts group spent a long time trying to raise funds and work a deal to secure a long lease from NAMA to prevent the building being sold from under them. I’m glad it worked out and that they’ve been able to stay there.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    What a nice collection this week Jean. Oddly though the thing I enjoyed the most was how some of those buildings in your slideshow follow the same curve as the street – we don’t see much of that here.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Helen Bushe says:

    Great selection. A lot of doors like this in the old part of Preston too.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Fun fun fun, and when it comes to doors I never mind if it takes forever. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nato says:

    What a great collection of bold colored doors! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. jorgekafkazar says:

    Did anyone else notice that the columns beside the doors are a mixture of Ionic, Doric, and Corinthian?

    Liked by 1 person

  18. graceunc says:

    i love the doors! when i first quickly glance at them, i thought that maybe you’d photoshopped one door a bunch of different colors! the yellow one really pops out – i’m a big fan of bright colors myself; i painted my bathroom yellow and blue, with red trim. i was quite happy with it, but now i might have to re-paint it in slightly more tranquil hues at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very colourful bathroom. I painted our family bathroom in bright colours when the kids were small but now I’m older I think I need to keep my heart rate a bit slower, lol. Our main bathroom at the moment is painted a sea green/blue colour (it’s a beach theme with lots of shells) and sand coloured flooring.

      Like

  19. Ali Isaac says:

    So nice to see a neglected old building get a new lease of life like this! And such a colourful one, too. And I am rather partial to a bright red door! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Jean I loved all your doors this week, but the yellow one got my attention! I’m glad the artists could only do a side of that building for my taste!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. pattimoed says:

    Beautiful doors, Jean. Lovely colors!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. The red door is lovely with its white columns, but the yellow doors windows are really nice.

    Great selection! I’m catching up! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

