Thursday Doors

dsc_2153.jpg

This is more of an entrance than a door, to kick off this week’s Thursday Doors. The English Market in Cork city is where Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip dropped in to buy buy some sausages for their Saturday morning fry-up in May 2011, on the final day of the Queen’s State Visit to Ireland. Well, they didn’t exactly pay for them, as they were presented with a hamper packed with twenty different Irish artisan food products on offer at the various stalls. There are two entrances on different streets that lead into the covered market and it’s a hive of activity every day of the week. Here is the website description:

‘Small stalls sit alongside larger businesses. Fledgling traders beside long-established family businesses passed down from one generation to the next. Meats and fish, herbs and spices, fruit and vegetables, sauces and oils, chocolates and cakes, cheeses and pastas – the Market caters for all culinary tastes and all eating occasions. You’ll also find crockery, t-shirts, novelty items, clothes alterations and art – an eclectic mix itself creating a diversity of customers, adding further to the unique atmosphere of the English Market. Having experienced the sights, sounds and smells of the Market, customers can unwind and sample it’s tastes and enjoy the banter from the various café’s, deli’s and food plates from the atypical stalls.’  (1)

The ‘English Market’ was created in 1788 by the English (Protestant) corporation that controlled the city until 1841. The reformation of local government in 1840 saw the representatives of the majority Irish (Catholic) community establish an alternative indoor market, which became known as the ‘Irish Market’ differentiating it from its older counterpart.

The story of the English Market reflects the political, cultural and dietary history of the people of Cork over a span of two centuries. The changing tastes of the city has always been catered to but old Irish food traditions still remain. Alongside Spanish olives, Italian bread and French cheese you will also find the old working class Irish food staples like, tripe, drisheen, crubeens and salted ling. If you’re vegetarian, I’ll spare you the details. Let’s just say they are all much cheaper forms of protein than your average steak.

After watching this video by Partnership International you will see why I love to visit the English Market any time I’m in the city. It will also make you hungry – sorry.


Thanks for stopping by this week and if you would like to see more doors (or entrances, or even gates) from around the world, have a look at Norm’s blog.

Source (1)

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in food, Historical buildings, History, society, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    I love places like this. I’m not sure if it’s just me but it seems there has been a resurgence in popularity of local markets like this everywhere I go these days.
    And if it’s okay with you, I’ll pass on those “cheaper forms of protein” thank you very much 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sjhigbee says:

    Thank you sooo much for sparing my vegetarian feelings on going into details about those ‘cheaper forms of protein’… Another lovely collection of doors and a fascinating dollop of history to boot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. msgt3227 says:

    Oatmeal (porridge? gruel??) is just fine for me, thx!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. –> “English Market” was one of the first signs I read on entering Cork. I expected it to be a street market, as I hadn’t read anything about the city beforehand. After I found out it was indoor, I met with a new problem. I couldn’t find the entrance, because of construction work going on everywhere. When I’d finally managed to find my way in and was desperate for a… no, not a coffee, but the opposite), I saw a sign “There are no [I’ll let you guess]!” However, not to worry, I told myself, holding on in anguish and taking just a few photos, before rushing out to the department store I’d seen on the way there … I knew they had “facilities” at M & S, which can be expected. Wrong again! It’s a law in my country to provide patrons of cafeterias with certain “facilities”. Soon supermarkets of a certain size will have to provide them for their customers, too. Not a bad idea… 🙂
    And yes, it’s a marvellous place, but facilities would make it even more marvellous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my! I never looked for a loo there, usually I’ll go were I have a coffee or lunch. I didn’t realize there’s no facilities at the market and I’m surprised there aren’t any at M&S either. It would be worth their while installing them as customers might stay longer and spend a bit more if they didn’t have to rush off to spend a penny elsewhere. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • When you’re travelling and walking around all day, you don’t want to stuff yourself continuously, just to be allowed to do what you must do. 😉
        I asked at M&S where it was. They said they used to have one, but alas! No chance now. I found a ladies at the shopping centre at long last, with an incredibly long queue. I was overjoyed and returned several times over the next few days, always bringing along a book to read. A great place of interest it proved to be. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. jesh stg says:

    Love these indoor markets and browse and buy:). Love it when inhabitants of the country show respect to their royals! Such a different feeling than with a president!
    Am making myself ready to go to my daughter to celebrate Thanksgiving, so it won’t be before late evening I’ll be back on the computer.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • What is more remarkable is the fact that the Royals were made so welcome in a country that fought to get its freedom from them. The past may not always be forgotten (and to some extent that’s a good thing) but its what we do in the present that’s important. Hope you had a lovely time with your daughter.

      Like

  6. jan says:

    Looks like a delightful store – made me hungry and I’m trying to save my appetite for T-day dinner!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joanfrankham says:

    Lovely photos, Jean. The video makers showed a lot of cakes and breads, maybe they have a sweet tooth? It was nice to see the Real Olive company and all their delicious offerings!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I DO love places like this, Jean. I wish they’d send me a (free) hamper of goodies. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. socialbridge says:

    Gorgeous shots, Jean. I’m feeling very hungry all of a sudden!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. willowdot21 says:

    Fabulous , Philip and Elizabeth never pat for anything tisk tisk!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Miam, miam! I’d love to shop here too! The cheese and olive stall would be a favorite I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. willowdot21 says:

    Yes I did mean pay!! Predicted text on the phone!! 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Vicky says:

    I’d like to be a Queen( a Royal one) and be gifted with twenty different Irish artisan products…I’d probably eat all twenty too. A Nice piece of history, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. joey says:

    Wow, that’s some entrance! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Fun video and love the marketplace!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. inesephoto says:

    I LOVE English market in Cork 🙂 Thank you for this excursion!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

