Thursday Doors

dsc_0008

Thursday Doors comes from the Davenport Hotel in Dublin City this week, a former 17th century prayer hall, where I attended a conference co-hosted by Amazon KDP and Writing.ie. I was going to watch the day-long self-publishing event online, as all of the tickets sold out within 48 hours of being released, but I got an email from Amazon KDP asking me if I was going. They said they were hoping to meet me there. I explained about not having a ticket but they said they would put myself and Mr. R. on their guest list. I’ve never been on anyone’s guest list (apart from weddings) so how could I refuse?

DSC_0011.JPG

The inside is as elegant as the outside

dsc_0015

The program began at 9 am and ended at 5 pm with a break for lunch. The morning’s panel of guest speakers were interviewed by Rick O’Shea, broadcaster on national radio and host of The Poetry Programme, and Vanessa O’Loughlin of Writing.ie. The afternoon’s participants were interviewed by Darren Hardy, Head of Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing Programme in the UK. The event was live-streamed to libraries nationwide for the benefit of anyone who might be in a poor quality broadband area.

Here’s me, welcoming everyone to the event. Err…. no. That’s me anticipating a nice lunch at the pub across the road. See that hungry smile on my face?

dsc_0003

Kennedy’s Bar and Restaurant is steeped in history, has an old world setting and more importantly for me at the time (my stomach was growling at me, after all) the food is delicious. It was also a very apt place to have our lunch, considering we were attending a self-publishing event.

dsc_0012

This lovely old premises has been a favourite watering hole in Dublin since it’s establishment in 1850 and is steeped in literary tradition. In the past, while the back of the premises served alcohol, the front part of the pub operated as a grocer’s shop where young Oscar Wilde earned a few bob every Saturday afternoon, stacking the shelves. As he lived in the neighbourhood, not only did Oscar earn a few shillings from Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy but he also spent a few in there, too, musing over a bottle of Stout. Apart from its most famous employee, Kennedy’s has also enjoyed the custom of Samuel Beckett and James Joyce, during their formative years.

After a wonderful lunch, we made our way back to the Davenport to hear the afternoon’s sessions.

dsc_0002

Louise Ross, an independently published author, has been able to reach more than half a million people around the world in less than two years, through four consecutive bestsellers on Amazon KDP. Another panelist, Mark Dawson, recently announced that he has seen more than one million downloads of his work. Once you are happy with your book and its quality, publishing on KDP takes less than five minutes and the book appears on Kindle stores worldwide within 24-48 hours. Kelly Butler, a Technical Account Manager at Amazon UK, answered questions from the audience on formatting, which I found extremely enlightening.

At the end of the day, Lizzy and John from KDP asked me if I would like to be interviewed for an article in the Irish Times about my experience as a self-published author. Of course, I was delighted and it made the day even more special for me. If you are already  writing, or aspiring to, you will enjoy this video of the conference.

I hope you found this week’s Thursday Doors helpful if you are considering self-publishing. There are more doors and interesting posts waiting to be discovered on Norm’s Blog. Scroll down to the end of his post and you find a ‘blue frog’ link to click.

 

 

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in authors, book publishing., emerging authors, food, Historical buildings, Ireland, Thursday Doors, Writers Resource, writing tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Wow! An 8-hour conference as it happened, for real? 😮 I was just thinking that I’d for sure take place in it if I was near. Not that I have written anything yet, but I’m definitely thinking in this direction, once I decide what kind of thing it should be. Very good to see you and to be able to take part in this way! Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations, Jean, and thanks for the great info and great pics…heading over to Irish Times article now. Kennedy’s Bar made me…thirsty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Irish Times article on you, Jean, was wonderfully informative and interesting. Enjoyed that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on The Writers' Workshop Blog and commented:

    Good video on this post if you’re interested in self-publishing.

    Like

  5. Double doors, a reflection, a pub, and an image of you! Great post! Congratulations on the interview!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sjhigbee says:

    What a fabulous experience, Jean:). And thank you for the pictures – it made it so much easier to visualise.

    Like

  7. Nice doors. I had no idea Amazon was involved with self publishing so thanks for the info. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joanne Sisco says:

    What a great post and wonderful article about you!! Woohoo! I know someone famous … and I’m being serious!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jan says:

    Wow, an interview! That’s terrific. Can’t wait to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jesh stg says:

    Wow, Amazon must like you:):) Considering you have written several books? Good to know that self-publishing is possible with Amazon. Gotto pass this on to my son, he just finished this week a challenge tow rite his (novel) in a month, and is investigating, what now?
    I’ll ask a few questions when December is over. The doors are beautifu!. A prayer hall? A new concept to me, or was this event inside a former church?
    Nice to see all of you – you wondered if you also were feeling cold:)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your son must have been participating in NaNoWriMo for November. Lots of writers get their first book done that way. He should definitely do something with it. If he wants to ask me anything tell him to get in touch and if I know how to help, I will. I’m not sure what religion used the building as a prayer hall but up to 2000 worshipers could fit into it until a fire destroyed the interior in 1990. I love this part of Dublin and if I could afford a tiny apartment there I’d buy one. I worked in the area when I was single and my two eldest children were born in the the maternity hospital just a five minute walk from there.

      Like

      • jesh stg says:

        Am happy he made that decision (he asked a few times, I think he wanted our permission:), since he started in a time of waiting for a job to come through (this is the one in Holl.. who graduated from college in the summer) – meanwhile the job came, but he took it part time, so he had time to write.
        Wow, it intrigues me that once upon a time so many would come together to pray!
        What is special about this part of Dublin that you like it so much you would rent an apartment there?
        Thanks so much Jean for offering help – really appreciate it!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    That Davenport is a beautiful building inside and out.
    Great post Jean 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. socialbridge says:

    Congrats on all fronts, Jean. Great post and those doors are truly special.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. dimlamp says:

    Interesting that it was a 17th century prayer hall, I’m guessing that means Protestants, or was it Catholics?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Plymouth Brethren are a conservative, nonconformist, Evangelical Christian movement whose history can be traced to Dublin, Ireland in the late 1820s, originating from Anglicanism. They don’t like to refer to their meeting places as churches, which is probably why it was called Merrion Hall. (Wikipedia)

      Liked by 1 person

  14. That sounds like a real interesting conference! I’ve never been to Dublin but it’s on my list. Wonderful doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Although I like the post, I really loved the article about you. Congrats!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joey says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you were so famous 🙂
    Kennedy’s is a gorgeous place!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Congrats on your acknowledgement by Amazon KDP; next year, when they send you a guest invitation, hold out for a limo to drive you to and from the event ;). I now have to keep my eyes open when I read my Kindle. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. jesh stg says:

    Listened today to part of of the video at the end of your post. – interesting! Congrats with the interview they asked you to write.their article:):)

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

