Thursday doors

dsc_0696

Can you spot the door? This is a very special Thursday Doors post because I’m featuring our tiny home that we plan on living in for our retirement. It needs a lot of work but I ย love a challenge and this one is definitely going to test our DIY skills. We have renovated an old cottage before but not one as old as this, or in need of as much work either. The door you can just about see underneath all that ivy is at the back of the house.

dsc_0721

Can you spot the house? It’s that cute little end-of-terrace single story cottage. The large red house next to it is a doctor’s practice, so if one of us takes a heart attack during our renovating we know where to find a defibrillator.

The house itself may be tiny but the back garden, although narrow, is quite long with a side and back entrance. So, there are many options regarding extending and building a garage at the end of the garden. There’s also a very large oil tank that’s almost as big as the extended bathroom. We thought we might live in that while we work on the house but then again, our boat is moored just three miles away so I think that might be a bit more comfortable.

It’s great fun exploring a new part of the country and I can see us spending a lot of time in junk yards and at second-hand markets, hunting for bargains. We have already discovered a great place to find some doors – a haven for a Thursday Doors addict.

dsc_0315

Feast your eyes on this lovely collection, it even includes a set of red doors.

When we get tired of demolishing internal walls and pulling down ceilings we can take a break in a lovely wee park just a half a minute’s walk away (or crawl, depending on how worn out we are). It leads down to a small marina on the river Erne and is a very relaxing place to sit and recharge the batteries. So far, we’ve added a new roof to the house and will carry on refurbishing bit by bit, until it’s ready to move into. I’ll keep you posted.

dsc_0724

Thanks for stopping by this week. To have a look at some more Thursday Doors check out Norm’s blog and follow the link at the end of his post.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Ireland, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Thursday doors

  1. jan says:

    Good idea to live next to a doctor’s office if you plan to do a lot of renovating! (I’m thinking more of twisted ankles and wrists. I bet it’s going to be just adorable after you guys are finished.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow What a project! I’m looking forward to seeing the progress. I surely hope neither of you need that defibrillator!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ken Somerset says:

    Wow, that is awesome and i love the door picture. i am a builder so if you need any help this would be the perfect reason to travel across the pond to visit.,

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love deconstructing and reconstructing. Wish I lived closer because I’d certainly volunteer to help. And, my pulse quickens just thinking about all those doors. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ohhh, what a find! The house, but also the door shop! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ They seem to be dancing! I wish you much joy in the renovation and can’t wait to see the end project.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. msgt3227 says:

    How very exciting!! I think you should stay on the boat during your renovations, personally ๐Ÿ™‚ I would also suggest when you reach the point when you need lots of extra hands to help out, that you should schedule a work day/week/whatever and let us all know so we can all join you! For those of us from the other side of the pond, I believe you will have to provide the tools, as TSA may not be keen on a bunch of hammers and saws stored in the overhead bins… plus our power tools won’t fit your taps!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. willowdot21 says:

    Fabulous all just fabulous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    It looks like a beautiful area, Jean. Good luck with the renovations. Be sure to share progress photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nice, Jean. Please keep us posted on the reno progross. Oh, and NO heart attacks, please. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joanne Sisco says:

    At the thought of renovations, my eye started to twitch ๐Ÿ˜‰

    What a wonderful project to redo this cottage. You didn’t mention how old it was.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We think it might be almost two hundred years old as it’s on the ordinance survey map of 1829, Joanne. The other houses in the terrace must have been single story at one time but over the years a second floor was added. I really like that it’s pretty much true to its original style but I suppose at some time it had a thatched. roof.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. jesh stg says:

    Should I say, “Good morning?” (Hope you’re not up because It’s now 5 pm here)
    I was “on my way” to your blog when your comment came. Did you already choose a door?
    I can see you love a challenge! How much time (years) are you predicting it will take?

    Am smiling, because you are taking it quite different than our weekend neighbors. They’re lovely people and we get along very well. Their house is is better shape than ours, they’re installing a new heater, and other new things, in their mid-fifties and planning to retire in 10 years, and he worries about “getting finished with trees in the backyard in time” (that is actually a big thing here, since we live in the forest).

    Liked by 1 person

    • We hope to have the house ready to move into next year, with any luck. I’ll be sixty in December 2017 and my husband turned sixty this earlier this year. I definitely don’t want to wait for ten years. I wan’t to paint the walls while I can still see where they are, lol! We don’t mind roughing it. If we have hot water for a shower, a flushing toilet and somewhere clean enough to prepare our food, then I’m happy to move in and finish the job. Camping with four young children in Irish weather prepared us for an apocalypse, never mind living in a half finished home.

      Like

      • jesh stg says:

        I and hubby are more like you, Jean. Our reason to move to the country was actually not retirement, even though we passed that, but so I could paint bigger. I like a roomy kitchen and living room though . and we have that. Hope you get your wish to move within a year:)

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks so much for the encouragement. Do I call you Jesh? Or is that a shortened version of your name for WordPress? I meant to ask you that ages ago.

          Like

          • jesh stg says:

            Yes, I got tired of typing out my 9-letter name. Also, because I used to link it to facebook, and soon found out previous clients had found me (in my previous work it’s kind of a no-no to keep relationships once they leave the office), with some would be okay, others definitely not! Hence, it became Jesh:) And the last name comes from the one who birthed me. So, I’m totally fake:):)

            Liked by 1 person

  12. socialbridge says:

    What a dote of a house and that door is magical.
    Good luck with the renovations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jean. You should have seen me when we first viewed it. I wouldn’t go through the ivy to get inside as a massive swarm of bluebottles flew out of it when my husband went in before me and I wondered what else was living in it. The estate agent was laughing when I eventually covered my head with my jacket and ran through. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      Liked by 1 person

  13. It looks to be quite a job, but it will be all yours when it’s done, which is very cool. Your photo of all the doors made me smile. Best of luck with the work, Jean!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Norm 2.0 says:

    You are much braver than I. I’ll build an occasional piece of furniture and tackle most basic home repairs, but a renovation project of this depth is more than I’m willing to take on; though I do know how rewarding it will be once it’s all done.
    Good luck to you and do share some updates as you progress. That garden has soooo much potential too – have fun ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • It certainly is a big project. Our solicitor was being picky about building surveys etc (only doing his job) and in the end we told him to think of it more like a plot than a house, we were prepared to knock it down if we had to. Fortunately, only the roof needed replacing – the 2 foot thick walls are fine.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Vicky says:

    Oh gosh, how EXCITING! What a project and what a result you will have! How many wonderful doors can you fit it? You will have to keep us all updated on the progress, congratulations on your wonderful find and all the very best for the renovating…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Vicky. The funny thing is, there won’t be too many doors internally, as downstairs is open plan. Besides the front and back door there will only be a bathroom door downstairs – and only two bedroom doors upstairs. I think we’ll have to build a shed from some old doors, just to satisfy my door addiction. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  16. joey says:

    How exciting! Looks so charming there. I love the red double doors ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I love the hidden door! And what a wonderful adventure, making your new home just the way you like. A lot of hard work but well worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Wow! I’m very impressed with your energy and enthusiasm. My husband and I did a major renovation/addition to our home in the late 90’s, soon after we moved in. It wasn’t anywhere near 200 years old, but there were a lot of challenges. One piece of advice: take a lot of pictures to show where electrical, pipes, and other things are that will become invisible once you close up the walls. We often refer to our pictures when we have other projects that could interfere with them.

    Beautiful door pictures! I love that there is a whole shop filled with rescued doors. Far too many have been lost as they are replaced with soulless modern “improvements.”

    Liked by 1 person

  19. jorgekafkazar says:

    Don’t forget the before-and-after pictures! And the time lapse sequences!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Usually the doors are the last to go into the building but since you’re a Thursday Door blogger why don’t you select the door first and build your reno around it? That would be a statement! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Congrats on choosing your next dwelling!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Christy B says:

    There’s something splendid about red doors! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Hi I already follow your fab blog, so thought I would share that I am super excited as I am officially in the running for the UK BLOG AWARDS 2017! If you could click the link and choose FoodandDrink&Lifestyle on the drop down menu:
    http://blogawardsuk.co.uk/ukba2017/entries/forkwardthinkingfoodinista
    Thank you kindly in advance your vote is much appreciated๏Š
    Melanie xx
    https://forkwardthinkingfoodinista.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/stop-there-is-still-time-to-have-your-say/

    Like

  24. pattimoed says:

    I admire your skills in undertaking this project. My husband and I are “all thumbs” when it comes to DIY. That’s a great idea of sleeping on your boat while you’re working on this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  25. inesephoto says:

    Your oil tank does look like a two storey cabin ๐Ÿ™‚
    The door collection in the store is very impressive.You will never run out of the door pictures. I can imagine how exciting such house renovation can be. Make sure you document it on your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

