Thursday Doors

dsc_2503.jpg

On a recent trip to see my parents I paid a visit to the old graveyard in Haggardstown, County Louth, where many of my ancestors were laid to rest. The ruins of an old church stand in the center of the cemetery, along with seven yew trees. Although seldom used now for burials, the graves and grounds are kept in very good condition and it has won many prizes because of this.

dsc_2487.jpg

 

dsc_2486.jpg

This is a great place to get some nice atmospheric shots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll be busy catching up with family over the next week so this is my last Thursday Doors for this year. In case you’re wondering if there’s going to be an actual door in this post, here’s one I made earlier. No prizes for guessing my favourite door colour. I hope you all have a good end to 2016 and I wish you the very best for next year. Stay safe and warm (or cool, if you’re in a hot climate). See you in 2017. ๐Ÿ™‚

dsc_2481.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. More Thursday Door posts can be found on Norm’s blog. Enjoy.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in castles and ruins, Historical buildings, Ireland, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. willowdot21 says:

    Lovely atmospheric blog! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I enjoyed this little tour, Jean. I think “there once was a door there” is also worth looking at. Leaves something to the imagination. Enjoy the time with your family and the holiday season.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sjhigbee says:

    Have a lovely Christmas and I look forward to continuing to visit your lovely blog in 2017:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful history lesson. Hope someone opens the door to let the pup in out of the cold. ๐Ÿ™‚ Merry Christmas to you and yours, Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jesh stg says:

    The details of this cemetery show a lot of atmosphere and history! The smoke coming from the chimney in the last art work is clever – when there’s snow you need heat! Tells me of an eye for detail and pragmatism:):)
    Have a lovely time with your family time, a merry Christmas and happy New Year!
    The get- togethers with my family already have started this week, so am in the holiday mood.
    I have much hope for 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dconnollyislandgmailcom says:

    Beautiful photography…and very fun homemade door. Thanks for sharing. Enjoy your time with family and friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. socialbridge says:

    A lovely post, Jean. I hope you have a great Christmas and find lots of doors opening just when you want them to.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jennie says:

    Nice post, Jean. Thank you! Merry Christmas to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    I could feel the atmosphere of this place through your pics Jean – very powerful indeed.
    All the best to you and your s for the holidays – see you next year ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lovely Jean! Merry Xmas ๐Ÿ™‹๐Ÿผ

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kash Pals says:

    Lovely tour. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and family. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yeah! I love what you did! Wishing you most excellent holidays and beyond!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. prior.. says:

    Oh I love your art door, Jean!
    Made me smile in a way that only an art door can do!
    And the cemetery is interesting –
    Cool shot of the gate and holy old!
    Have a great rest of 2016 and see you on the flip side

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pattimoed says:

    I love that orange door, Jean! All the best to you and your family in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, the new year didn’t get off to a great start for me, Patti. Our house is a flu zone at the moment and I spent new year’s eve in a doctor’s surgery. Oh well, it can only get better. Hope 2017 has been kind to you and yours so far.

      Like

  15. Joanne Sisco says:

    “Atmospheric” is a good choice of words! Do you have ancestors in this particular cemetery? How far back are you able to trace your ancestry? My mind boggles at the thought of centuries since I can only go back to the turn of the 20th century.

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas with your family and very best wishes for the New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry I’m late replying Joanne. I’ve been pretty sick with the flu but on the mend now. I have quite a few ancestors in that cemetery. I traced my Irish ancestors on my mother’s side back to late 1700’s but went back much further on my dad’s side. He’s from England and someone on a genealogy site discovered I was his sixth cousin and sent me his family tree, which went back to the 1400’s. That was an amazing piece of research and saved me years of searching along that branch of the family. Wishing you and yours a wonderful 2017, Joanne.

      Like

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Wow, Jean! That would make my head dizzy just imagining all those previous generations and their lives! Any interesting stories that you learned along the way? Have you ever written about any of them?

        Glad you hear you are on the mend. Fighting the flu over the holidays was likely not your first choice ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Hoping you have a happy and healthy new year!

        Liked by 1 person

        • We’ve all survived the flu, thanks, Joanne. I did find a few skeletons in the cupboards of our family tree that make for interesting stories. I’ve been using my mother’s fishing community ancestors for inspiration for my Irish historical fiction but I would love to set some stories where my father’s side comes from. I really need to pay a visit to the village his grandfather came from in England, to get a feel for the place. I’ve seen the weavers’ cottage he was born in on Google Earth. It’s in a small terrace of renovated cottages on the old road that led to the workhouse. So much history in that place and people still live in those houses today.

          Like

          • Joanne Sisco says:

            That’s the big difference between our sides of the Atlantic. We’re just babies over here with our history. It makes my head a little mushy just trying to imagine having access to this depth of knowledge about my family’s background. You have a precious gift.

            Liked by 1 person

  16. Jay says:

    Happy new year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. jesh stg says:

    Have a great writing year in 2017, Jean, and that the renovation of your house will progress fast and smooth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Jesh, and I hope the year ahead will be a great one for you, your family and your art.

      Like

      • jesh stg says:

        Am reading my son’s book – what a trip-and am so surprized it’s more of a European style – slow pace, and how do I say this – concentrated on thought patterns. Nothing like when you interact with him, which is an energetic, discussing -like style (some would think confrontive style). Am telling you this for no other reason than that I think you would understand these small differences:):)
        Maybe I can write a book about writers as being people (just kidding)?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lol! You should write that book. What’s the title of your son’s book? Has he published it yet?

          Liked by 1 person

          • jesh stg says:

            The title of his book is “In the Wake of Wonderings.” I told him what I had read in your post about self-publishing with Amazon, but he’s not that far yet. Thinking how he wants to take care of the editing part.
            Thanks for your interest:)

            Liked by 1 person

            • Ah, the editing part! I like Stephen King’s quote on that; ‘To write is human, to edit is divine.’ I edited my first book so much that I almost gave myself an out of body experience, lol! Knowing when to stop is the trick, like knowing when you’ve put the last brush stroke on a painting, difficult to decide that at times.

              Like

  18. inesephoto says:

    Oh I love this house. I guess you will paint your door red when you finish rebuilding your new home ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

