Thursday Doors

img_20160816_162301.jpg

Back in Cork city for this week’s Thursday Doors and not a cell in sight. I think I’ve spent enough time photographing prisons over the past few weeks so let’s have a look at an old building of a completely different nature. The barrels stacked outside should give you a clue as to what sort of business takes place inside that old doorway.

dsc_1799.jpg

Yes indeed, it’s a pub. By my posts over the last few months it might appear that whenever I’m not incarcerated, I’m intoxicated. The truth is, whenever we go to a pub it’s usually for lunch and it’s always in a place with a bit of character and history attached – not too difficult to find in any Irish town. The Welcome Inn on Parnell Street has been in business for over 170 years, since 1845, and is one of the oldest traditional bars in Cork city. They don’t serve food but have live music sessions four evenings a week and they even let you pull your own pint if you’d like to have a go (after a quick lesson from the bar tender).

dsc_1797.jpg

Sometimes what’s above the door is just as interesting or decorative, as you can see from the photograph below.

dsc_1796.jpg

The Murphy’s sign depicts Prussian born strongman, Eugene Sandow (1867-1925), raising a fully grown horse overhead with just one hand. It was part of his main act and the brewery used this image in their advertising in the early decades of the 20th century – because ‘Murphy’s Stout Makes You Strong’ of course.

murphys-stout

Here’s a video from one of the music sessions that take place at The Welcome Inn. I thought Manfred Mann’s song ‘The Mighty Quinn’ a good one to end the post with.

I’m delighted you stopped by this week and if you’d like to sample  another ‘doorscursion’ there’s a great selection of Thursday Doors over on Norm’s blog. You can even add some of your own.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in History, Ireland, Music, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Vicky says:

    Oh, well, now, that combination of teal, blue and purple just does it for me, and the Stoutman sign is is such fun! I’d been in there like a shot, what a lovely looking pub!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. As they say in Louisiana, the video is a “lagniappe!” I loved it! Y’all Irish know your way around a groove! Another in a long list of great posts from you, Jean. Slainte!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. joey says:

    Cheerful — love the hanging baskets 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I guess I need to lay in a supply of Murphy’s Stout 🙂

    The photos are beautiful, Jean.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. jesh stg says:

    Imprisoned or intoxicated …smile, that maybe some characters in you books, but I don’t think it will be in your memoir as a daily occurrence, if you would write one:) Those flowers make it look very welcoming! These, as well as the barrels may not be likely to be seen on the street side of the pub here:)
    Great advertisement – revealing times have changed in some things – referring to the “stout makes you strong.” It changed into having fun, getting away for the weekend (am referring to Coors’ ads)

    Liked by 2 people

  6. sjhigbee says:

    Wow… what a remarkable looking pub. That sign is amazing! Though I’m glad I didn’t get to see the act – I cannot believe that the horse wasn’t hurt when he was picked up like that.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Perfect! Beautiful door and building that serves good beer and lovely flowers. Love it, Jean. And, I enjoyed the music as well. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. jan says:

    I’m glad they let you out of prison! My mother’s maiden name is Jameson. Good to know my ancestors probably ran a pub somewhere.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    “Whenever I’m not incarcerated, I’m intoxicated” 😀
    That would be a great title for a Country & Western song!
    Some lovely door shots in this post.
    I must say though that stout has yet to make me that strong, perhaps I’m just not partaking enough?

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Jean, I love the Murphy’s ads (and their stout) and, like everyone else, my favorite line was “By my posts over the last few months it might appear that whenever I’m not incarcerated, I’m intoxicated.” I never thought that, but now that you mention it… 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  11. inesephoto says:

    I love these old pubs, so full of character. I had no idea who the guy with horse was, thank you for sharing that 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Ali Isaac says:

    He lifted a full grown horse… with one hand? Even two handed would be amazing. Bet the horse wasn’t too thrilled though. The things people do. 😁

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear from you.

