Thursday Doors

img_20170320_200344.jpg

Last week’s Thursday Doors photos were taken as we drove through Dublin city headed for Marconi House, headquarters of one of our national radio stations, Today FM. I had been invited by The Last Word host, Matt Cooper, to participate in a program on self-publishing in Ireland and couldn’t have asked for a nicer day for the car trip. We arrived with plenty of time to spare, so decided to have a wander around one of our favourite haunts as teenagers – St. Stephen’s Green shopping center (although it wasn’t a shopping center back then). In our day it was called ‘The Dandelion Market’ and was situated on the site of a former lemonade bottling plant. This was where I bought most of my lovely ’70’s fashion items such as cheesecloth dresses and shirts, tie-dyed tops, denim jackets and flared jeans. It was also our biking days, as you’ll see from the forty year old photos below – I can’t believe it was four decades ago.

Did you notice the Dublin doors and the old telephone kiosk?

Among the many young bands to play their first gigs in the Dandelion Market, entertaining the stall browsers, was one you might have heard of – U2. I’m sure Bono and the lads have fond memories of the Dandelion. By 1980 preliminary work had begun on the new shopping center and the market had to go.

dsc_2803.jpg

Although the entrance doors are not too spectacular, the beautiful facade more than makes up for that. Opened in 1988, Stephen’s Green was the first premium shopping center to be built in Ireland. The glass dome and ornate iron structure replicates older, more historical buildings, which helps it to blend in well with the surrounding Victorian and Georgian architecture. Situated at the top of a pedestrianized Grafton Street, the center is directly opposite St. Stephen’s Green Park, in the heart of Dublin’s prestigious shopping and cultural quarter.
dsc_2817.jpg
Inside is just as ornate as the outside, with modern stores, kiosks and art galleries spread across three floors.

dsc_2818.jpg

Look at that beautiful blue sky – I told you it was a lovely day for our trip. Let’s step onto the elevator to get a close look at a gigantic clock suspended over the center.

dsc_2819.jpg

This is the second floor and it was in a nostalgic little retro shop on this level that I bought a Batman poster (lots of stuff in there reminded me of the Dandelion Market). From this vantage point you can see how well the architecture evokes a Victorian greenhouse.

dsc_2820-1.jpg

Here’s the view from the top floor.

dsc_2823.jpg

Well, I certainly enjoyed my trip to Dublin and down memory lane. I hope you did, too. Over on Norm’s blog you find a link to lots more Thursday Doors from all over the globe. Enjoy and thanks for visiting.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in entertainment, Historical buildings, Ireland, Music, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. oglach says:

    Lovely photos—I particularly enjoyed those from your “biking days”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Mall what you call a shopping center is lovely! I wish my favorite Mall looked as pretty, and unique. All the malls here have been looking the same for some years now. Big, boxy, boring buildings with glass and metal doors.

    I’d loved seeing your images from your Biking Days. What fun!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh wow, those old photos sure must bring back memories!
    And yes the phone booth as we would call them, they are not red!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah! These first bunch of snaps is priceless. 😀 They made me grin. I got a feeling you knew (and still do!) how to enjoy life.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Oh my that is a lovely facade. Thanks for taking us on a stroll down memory lane. If I hadn’t seen the pics I would have never taken you for a “biker chick” 😀
    “Oh to be young and carefree”? M’eh, perhaps. It was fun, but I made a lot of dumb mistakes and was always broke, but it was nice getting out of bed in the morning without my body making lots of strange cracking and popping noises 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. graceunc says:

    what a fabulous photo of you in your very wide-legged jeans – you looked like a model! the shopping center is beautiful; i love the curved balconies. because we don’t like big cities so much, we didn’t go to dublin on our last trip, but maybe we’ll have to give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. J Walters says:

    Oh yes, I do remember those clothes. Nice reminiscing! Great shots.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nice! Loved seeing the old photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joey says:

    That really is an exceptionally lovely place. Our prettiest mall pales in comparison. 😦
    Love the photos, older and newer!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jesh stg says:

    The top floor is impressive! Beautiful building, Jean! Am glad that with those flared jeans I was a little thinner then!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. JT Twissel says:

    Love those seventies photos! I had my own biking days…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. conspicari says:

    They have done a really great job with that that shopping centre, it certainly has some character. The old photo’s made me smile, for me it was bell bottom jeans and cuban heeled boots in my biking days, and loon pants in my hippie era. :>)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had to google ‘cuban heeled boots’ as I wasn’t sure what they looked like. I remember them well, we called them ‘cowboy boots’ and you can still buy them here, they’ve been back in fashion for a few years now. Can’t beat ‘seventies boots, can you? I don’t have any bunions because I only wore cowboy boots and sandals. No pointed stilettos for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’m a big fan of rounded architectural features, so this mall really appeals to me.

    Nice trip down memory lane! Great photos 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sherry Felix says:

    Lovely post Jean. I love the old photos along with it. Terrific building.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. sjhigbee says:

    Thank you for sharing your pics. Once again, a lovely set. I was about the same age in the 70’s – didn’t you have a lovely figure??

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dan Antion says:

    I love the photos of that shopping center. The details are fascinating. The biking photos are pretty cool too. Thansk for sharing both, Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. inesephoto says:

    Ah the fashion! Best years of my life, thank you for sharing these pictures 🙂
    Stephens Green is the place I always visit when in Dublin, even if for a half an hour. It is too special. The Shopping centre has a very impressive architecture indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. sydspix says:

    Beautiful images! Would love to see that shopping center.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. joanfrankham says:

    Beautiful shots of the shopping centre, and your lovely photos of you and your friends. I was in Dublin early 70s and loved going to the Dandelion Market, it made us all feel very hip and with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Tara says:

    That’s a fancy shopping center! And there are art galleries there? Too cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Matt says:

    I actually love the look of this place. It somehow reminds me of the train station from Hugo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I watched that movie a couple of weeks ago, it was on tv. I’ve seen it before but it’s a great story and you’re right about the train station, it does remind me of it now that you mentioned it. 🙂

      Like

  22. klara says:

    haha, yes, I really enjoyed the trip down the memory lane! hoping to visit Dublin one day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Jennie says:

    Great post, Jean. It must have been bittersweet to visit the Dandelion Market. Where does four decades go by so quickly? Wasn’t I a teenage crazed Beatles fan not so long ago? Sigh! I have been to the west coast- palm trees, no less! Never as far east as Dublin. Love your Thursday Doors posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Wow, cool building! Good thing they kept it and remodeled it. I don’t think many of the youngsters would know what a phone kiosk or booth is. Glad you had good trip down nostalgic lane.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. jazzytower says:

    That place is a feast for the eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

