Thursday Doors – Cork City

I’ve been searching through some photographs I took in Cork City earlier in the year and managed to find some I hadn’t already included in a Thursday Doors post. As we’ll be moving house soon, I’m confined to quarters sorting and packing so I haven’t been able to get out on any ‘doorscursions’ this week – we emptied the attic yesterday. I heard that groan of sympathy you let out. You’ve obviously been there and done that, so you know what a pain it is finding items you were sure had been donated to the charity shops years ago. Worse still, you end up putting them in the ‘might-be-worth-holding-onto’ pile, which always seems to be three times the size of the ‘definitely-must-go’ one. I thought this photo was very apt, seeing as I’m in the process of a house move.

DSC_2661

I like the Art Deco design on the pillars. The next image has pillars, too, which made it a bit of a challenge to get a clear view of a door – especially as this was a ‘drive-by’ shot from the car. It’s the entrance to St. Mary’s Church on Pope’s Quay (very appropriate address for a Roman Catholic church). The building dates back to 1832. If you look closely, you’ll see a man’s face on one of those doors. I have no idea who he is or why he’s been put there.

DSC_2688-1

There are lots of old buildings with pillars and arched windows to be found in Cork City.

In contrast to the grandness of pillars and arched windows, many of the entrances to the older retail premises are plain painted wood. I like the look of the clothes shop below as it still retains that image of the drapery shops of my childhood. The kind that sold everything from a tablecloth to a Sunday suit for the man of the house. The Irish phrase over the door to this clothes shop translates as ‘Welcome in. The Best Men’s Clothes in Cork’ (they sell women’s clothes too) and it’s a long established family business. John Mannix, the owner, is an expert fitter. His father opened the store in 1928 and Mr. Mannix has been running it since the 1950’s when he was 19 years old. It’s great to see it still going today and still in the same family.

DSC_2668-1-1

When you look through the railings to the other side of the river, you can just about make out the large doors of converted warehouses and above them some lovely arched windows. That spire you see to the right belongs to the Trinity Presbyterian Church, which has been used for worship since its completion in 1861.

DSC_2683-1-1

If you think it is leaning to one side, you’d be correct. From the angle of this shot you can’t see it very well but there’s aย distinctive kink in the spire. Now, there are two versions of the story as to how it got there; either the workmen did this deliberately to spite the architect or it was an accident through drunkenness! I quite like the idea of a bunch of well-oiled stonemasons looking up at their handiwork at the of the day and arguing over which of them put that block in the wrong place. You might see the kink better in this image from the Cork Heritage Open Day website. The longer I look at it, the more it seems to lean.

Thanks for stopping by this week and if you fancy checking out more Thursday Doors, have a look at Norm’s blog (he’s the originator of Thursday Doors) and click the blue link at the end of his post.

 

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Historical buildings, Ireland, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Thursday Doors – Cork City

  1. Judith says:

    An interesting collection. I’m sure that putting this together was a welcome distraction from the contents of the attic. I’ve been in your place too many times in recent years, practicing on mother-in-law’s and mother’s attic before starting on my own. Good luck with your sorting and weeding out. It will feel good when it’s finally done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susi Lovell says:

    Especially love the kinky (or kinked?) spire! And the clothes store. I find that the maybe toss out/maybe not pile tends to get tossed after the move. Good luck with your move.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    hmmm – what does it say about me that I can’t see the kink in the spire? Regardless of how long I stare at it, it looks straight to me. Maybe it was caused by a stonemason with my vision ๐Ÿ˜‰

    #97 with all the heads over the door and window recesses catches my eye. It has a very regal look about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    I’m a fan of mistakes made on purpose in any art form, perhaps especially out of spite, which is its own art form, so the crooked steeple is a win with me. I vote on purpose.
    I am very fond of the red building with it’s sweet, creamy trim.
    Good luck continuing with your reno. May your piles grow smaller every day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jackie says:

    I never seem to spend a lot of time in Cork. However on our last trip, our guide, knowing love of churches (nothing to do with religion) took us to St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jackie says:

    P.S. I was ruthless when we downsized and still ended up with stuff I wonder why I ever moved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jay says:

    I like the art deco pillars too, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Great photos and I’m sure a welcome break from the organizing and reorganizing. I like the kinked steeple. Either reason is good, but I like the idea that it was on purpose. That’ll teach him.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The kink makes me laugh. I do love to see family businesses going strong, whether small or large. I know all about emptying attics, etc. I had to get our four-bedroom/attic,/basement house of 27 years and four people ready to move in a week. Trust me, that was quite a feat and one I don’t care to ever repeat. Best with all that!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nice collection of photos. I hear you about having a time crunch. Last week I visited my family in CT and had plenty of time to take photos but little time to post them. So, I resorted to posting photos with no accompanying text. I’d say you did very well finding photos and writing an interesting piece. Good luck with moving!
    Donna

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jesh stg says:

    We don’t have an attic, but the garage is just as bad! We just moved 3 years ago, so that is still fresh in my memory! Am surprised you are still getting out a post! The church at the end is beautiful like a dream (to balance out your nightmares:).
    To keep you up to date, your book is added to the widgets, but still need to figure out the right ratio of pixels to make it the same size are the other book.
    Hope after the attic, your move will go smooth and fast!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mel & Suan says:

    Each door has its own story! Wonderful collection. Keep collecting and we are soon you will be relieved of sorting duty…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    A nice collection for second choice pics – #97 was the one that stood most for me.
    As a fellow pack-rat who can always find an excuse to not get rid of something, I think I know how your packing is going ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pattimoed says:

    I love that crooked church. It shows character and some very human foibles! Best of luck on your move, Jean. I hope your new house is filled with many happy memories.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

