Thursday Doors

I recently went for a drive up the Knockmealdown Mountains with an old friend of mine and we called on a lady she knew who rescues animals. Along with the dozen or more very friendly dogs that came to greet us there were some sheep and an imperious cockerel, strutting his stuff to his female companions.

DSC_3339

The results of all that strutting is plain to see in this next image.

DSC_3336

Adorable little black and white chicks. A couple of them had funny little ‘quiffs’ on their heads, which made them even cuter, and they live in a lovely little pink house.

DSC_3338-1

Sitting in the sunshine watching the antics of those chicks was so relaxing. We were very high up in the mountains, although you can’t really see this from the photos.

DSC_3342DSC_3341

When we lived in the area we had a view of the Knockmealdown Mountains and the Vee Pass from our house and often brought the kids up there on a picnic and to pick blackberries and bilberries. In some parts of Ireland the last Sunday in July was traditionally known as ‘Fraughan Sunday’ from the Irish name ‘fraochΓ‘n’ meaning bilberry (much like a blueberry) and this was always a celebration as they are the first wild berries to ripen. In winter the mountains are always covered with snow, even when there isn’t so much as a flake on lower ground. I’m really going to miss them when we move.

Speaking of moving, my friend’s house is up for sale and I asked her if it was okay to feature it on Thursday Doors, so if anyone is interested, it’s in a beautiful setting. That drive to the mountains is on her doorstep and the sea is only fifteen minutes away.

DSC_3333

I love the stonework (I think part of it was once an old barn) and it has a half-door, which is always a winner with me. Not to mention that fabulous garden, some of which I’ll be taking with me as my friend has been rooting cuttings from her plants for me – honeysuckle, jasmine and some beautiful roses.

DSC_3330

I even managed to get myself into what Norm would call a ‘door-selfie’ πŸ™‚

This is a lovely video of rhododendrons in bloom around the Vee Pass, from McMahon Studios. Unfortunately, it’s an invasive species, first introduced to Ireland in the 18th century as an ornamental plant. It is stunning to look at but extremely difficult to control, often threatening to smother native woodland.

I hope you enjoyed that little trip up the mountains, thanks for coming along. For a great selection of doors from around the world, have a look at Norm’s blog and click the blue link at the end of his post.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Ireland, nature, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel, videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. sjhigbee says:

    Thank you for once more sharing one of your beautiful corners of a lovely country. We also have the same problem with rhododendrons in parts of the New Forest – I hate the huge glossy dark leaves which take up lots of space, yet don’t provide food for any insect or bird… Have a lovely week-end, Jean:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dimlamp says:

    Very impressive blue door, and interesting commentary on that area of Ireland.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful building and how can you not like that rich blue door? Great post Jean.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. oglach says:

    Beautiful photos. I particularly like the half-door. My granny’s house had one, something very special about them. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Peter says:

    Knockin’ me down alright πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the name of the mountains and your friend’s beautiful home. Why do so many invasive species have to be so attractive?

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  7. JT Twissel says:

    An invasive species, hey? Here in California we don’t get the year round growth and so they are still prized. What an explosion of purple!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They absolutely thrive year round here, Jan. Recently some experienced hill walkers became entangled in the forest of rhododendron at the Vee Pass and had to call mountain rescue to get them out. It took five hours to rescue them because they were on a steep slope.

      Like

      • JT Twissel says:

        Oh my! Here we get wild blackberries bushes that, if left on their own, form jungles that resemble the thorny woods around Sleeping Beauty’s palace! The berries are sweet but you wouldn’t want to fall into the vine.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved my trip up the mountains. How could I not with a small pink house and then gorgeous blue doors. I hope someone buys that beautiful home quickly and lives there for many wonderful years. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joanne Sisco says:

    I love the rich blue doors against that stonework. Combined with the lush mountain setting, and this is a winner!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mel & Suan says:

    Wonder if they close the pink door to the hen house! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pistachios says:

    This looks like such a wonderful place! And what a name too!
    Was the colour of the hen house inspired by the rhododendrons?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The doors are lovely and that Dutch door is neat. I love the slate like roof, and stone. I’d love to see the inside. What a shame they must sell it but, I understand the need to be in or very near the city.

    The chicken coop is delightful all pink and cheery.

    Ah, that hillside with the purple Rhododendrons! I’d love to see that in person. WOW!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    I love that house and the blue door. It sure seems like a beautiful quiet area to visit. Thanks for the tour πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. jesh stg says:

    This is how I pictured Ireland. with green hills and friendly cottages:) Your friend has a beautiful garden, and I love her house!.Hope she sells it quickly! The video – WOW – the views and I remember this piece of music well It makes me want to play the piano:) This post was a treat, Jean, nothing but beauty and peaceful surroundings!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Beautiful post, Jean. That house for sale is wonderful (too bad I’d have to fly to get there). What an interesting name Knockmealdown Mountains.Any idea on the origin of the name? Enjoyed the trip up the mountains. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joey says:

    Wow. I’m totally interested in living in her house — there’s just that whole family, job, cross the sea problem one runs into πŸ˜›
    That is a beautiful place — so green, so hilly, so lush. I love pictures like that. I feel like I may have been born in the wrong place sometimes.
    Our skies look like those right now.
    But there are no chickens beside the red wheelbarrow…
    Nice door selfie πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  17. A nice three-in-one you pulled: pretty door, pretty house, pretty you! And chicks, how can I forget!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. pattimoed says:

    Beautiful post, Jean! I love that video clip of the mountains in bloom. Lovely! Best of luck on your move too. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

