Thursday Doors – Flatpack

DSC_3525

An unusual Thursday Doors from me this week – flatpack. We’ve been dismantling a lot of our flatpack furniture and setting it up in the house we are in the process of moving to. The above photo is of the first two of four units I’ll be using for a temporary kitchen, Mr. R. put those together after my botched attempt. Dismantling the shed was a much bigger project, so our grandson gave us a hand with that. Well, he gave his granddad a hand – I stayed at a safe distance from the scarpering spiders. My sister and her husband came to Cavan for the day and were a great help in putting the shed back together. After a while, it was obvious that the men could manage very well by themselves so we went back into the house to assemble the last two kitchen units. Obviously I wasn’t paying enough attention when Mr. R. was putting the first two together.

They both fell apart as soon as we tried to move them. I thought I would die from laughing, I’m sure all the neighbours heard us. That was last weekend. Today, Mr. R. assembled them properly and even though I paid close attention, I still don’t know what we did differently. Mind you, The Gaffer wasn’t with me at the time, I’m sure he would have put me right if he’d been there. He’s on strike until we get him a pair of overalls – designer ones! *

paul-frank-overalls

Next week I have the cutest little cottage to show you – and it even has a red door. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and if you would like to see a wide variety of Thursday Doors from around the globe, have a look at Norm’s blog and click the blue ‘frog’ link at the end of his post.

Source *

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Humour, Ireland, The Good Things in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Thursday Doors – Flatpack

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Our smallest cat loves to supervise and inspect my work. I enjoyed the post. I’ve been through this and a sense of humor needs to be in your toolbox.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jesh stg says:

    Yay, it’s really happening – you are moving! Nice to have help from family:) The cutest doggie pic, Jean:)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Glad you’re getting close to move in day. ๐Ÿ™‚ And, I normally can’t put anything together that requires screw drivers as well as my hubby either. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    It seems that things are progressing nicely. I hope the final move goes smoothly.
    I’ve put a few things together too quickly or without paying proper attention myself. This leads to no end of ribbing from my better half mostly because part of what I do for a living is ahem….write instruction/assembly manuals for machinery :-/
    Hey, a few hiccups along the way just make life more interesting. As long as you can laugh at yourself, it’s all good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    I can’t assemble much of anything. I never know what I’m doing and I lack confidence and my hands are weak, so I’m sure glad you made as much progress as you did, and that people came along to fix whatever was needed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Those little doggie overall are adorable!
    He-Man will take over if I don’t understand the instructions, or don’t have the muscle power to do it, or have the confidence to use the tools when assembling stuff like that. Today there are too few instructions, or they’re poorly written which just makes it all the harder to assemble.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jennie says:

    Happy moving, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joanne Sisco says:

    I rarely do any project that requires assembly. The instructions are like a secret code that only the initiated can read.
    Even if I do get it together, I need Husband to tighten everything anyway. Like Joey, my hands just aren’t strong enough.

    Excited for you that moving day is closer!! If these are your temporary kitchen, when do you expect your permanent one?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. JT Twissel says:

    Moving is such fun! Oh course there’s a certain excitement about a new place that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sjhigbee says:

    Delighted that you have got to the stage where you are actually moving furniture in – even the flatback variety:))

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ali Isaac says:

    Gasp! Don’t tell me you are moving to CAVAN???

    Liked by 1 person

  12. pattimoed says:

    Best of luck moving, Jean! It’s a bear, isn’t it??

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

