Thursday Doors – Menorca Again

Welcome once again to Menorca. It’s been quite a while since my last post, which was a tribute to my lovely mother who passed away seven months ago. I haven’t been able to motivate myself to do much this past year but I feel like I’m getting back on track at last. Maybe it’s the dry, sunny weather we’ve been having after a long winter. At least it seemed long to me this time.

These photos of Ciutadella, Menorca were taken last summer and this post is a continuation of this one.

The port and it’s marinas are quite large with lovely boats of all shapes and sizes.

This is the side view of Ciutadella’s City Hall, which overlooks the port. The building was constructed on top of an old Arab citadel and dates back to the 19th century but some of the original structure has been preserved.

There is definitely no shortage of interesting doors in Ciutadella.

The beaches didn’t let us down either. Whether it was small sheltered coves . . . . . .

Or long stretches of white sand.

This house was in one of the smaller coves where we spent our last few hours on the island before heading off to the airport to return home. Thanks for coming along on this virtual trip to Menorca once again and if you’re interested in Thursday Doors of a different culture, have a look at what’s over on Dan’s blog this week.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in boats, Historical buildings, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Thursday Doors – Menorca Again

  1. JT Twissel says:

    So sorry to hear about your mother. It takes a long time to fully recover – this last year has really dragged on for so many people I know.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Welcome back, Jean. It’s always good to see posts and doors from you. Our winter seemed longer than usual, and we’re still dealing with overnight freeze warnings. Menorca looks like a wonderful place to relax and renew your spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mysm2000 says:

    Gorgeous. I’d love to visit there. I totally empathize with having difficulty getting back on track. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cindy knoke says:

    Sincere empathy on the death of your mother. Beautiful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jennie says:

    Lovely post, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jguenther5 says:

    So good to hear from you again, Jean. Nice photos of Menorca.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Looks like a beautiful place to visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. marianallen says:

    I’m so sorry about your loss, Jean. I was devastated when I lost my mother, and she and I were both old ladies. Wonderful doors, my dear. HUGS

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Marian. At least we both got to have our mothers with us till a good age. It’s awful when a mother dies and leaves a young family behind. Fathers too. Thankfully we have many years of good memories to comfort us. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.