Thursday Doors – London

Earlier in the year I spent a weekend in London so of course I captured a few Thursday Doors while I was there.

The last time I was in Victoria Underground Station was in the late 1980s. Thankfully most of the older buidings are still there today.

You can find a tiny bit of France in London if you keep an eye out for it.

The Institut Français du Royaume-Uni represents and promotes French learning and culture in the United Kingdom. It’s situated in London’s South Kensington, opposite the Natural History Museum. Yes, I did venture into the museum. That deserves a post of its own so I’ll save those images for the next Thursday Doors.

A lot of the modern buildings are interesting but for me the older ones have the edge on them. Except maybe this next one.

It has a living wall. How cool is that? Would you like a closer look?

The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in Victoria has this amazing living wall. From its sixteen ton of soil grow 10,000 plants some of which are geranium, buttercup and even strawberry. It’s hoped this will help reduce flooding, which is partially caused by the lack of absorbant surface in this part of the city. The building’s 10,000 litre storage tanks channel the water through the walls to the plants.

I’m not good in crowded places so the bigger popular markets didn’t interest me. However, this one not too far from where I was staying was lovely. I bought some great handmade soap there and enjoyed its easy going atmosphere.

Thanks for coming along on this short virtual tour of just a small section of London and I promise to bring you around the Natural History Museum next time but if you head on over to Dan’s blog you’ll find lots of interesting Thursday Doors from around the globe.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Britian, Historical buildings, nature, Thursday Doors, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thursday Doors – London

  1. Sheree says:

    Love the living wall

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    These are wonderful doors, Jean. I agree with you about modern vs. historic buildings, but I do like the idea of that living wall. Looking forward to the museum.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. JT Twissel says:

    When we were there – about six years ago now – they were working on the area about Victoria Station and so it was difficult to see any of the buildings. The mishmash of ancient and modern is really what sets apart London and Paris I think. It can be jarring.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love living walls and the third photo your shared. I tend to prefer older buildings as well although, as you say, not every time. Have you not been blogging for a bit? I haven’t seen anything from you for quite a while, but perhaps I didn’t notice. Anyway, it’s lovely to “see” again and I hope all’s well with you both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Living walls are so pretty and good for the environment. In only blogging every four or five weeks, Janet. Not been on social media too much either. Life is very busy at the moment and I’m trying to make time to finish a book I started about two years ago but struggling with that too. On the plus side, I’m traveling more this year than I have in a long time.

      Like

  5. Jennie says:

    This was wonderful, Jean. A living wall- how cool!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.