Inspiration From Images

The SmileI’ve been trying to write more poetry lately and for me the best way to get inspiration is through the use of images. Even when writing a scene for a book I usually see it play out in my head, almost like a movie. Looking through my collection of holiday photographs I came upon this one I took on the Algarve in Portugal, just as the sun was going down. I thought it a bit odd to be inspired to write about inner turmoil from such a calm, tranquil image. I’m not even having a bad day, the sun is shining and the weather is exceptionally mild for December. I didn’t analyze myself for too long, though, I was thankful for the inspiration.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Poetry, The Good Things in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Inspiration From Images

  1. Beautiful, Jean. I am in agreement with you on the writing process. I, too, see the whole scene played out like a movie when I write; and I’ve noticed that when I’m feeling a bit down, it is easier to write about joyful, happy things and vice verse. The writing process is a strange and marvelous thing.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Jack. I think that’s why writing can be such good therapy. I’m feeling a lot more content and a lot less anxious, since I began a regular routine of writing two years ago.

      Like

  2. Yes, I know that feeling. I become an actor say all the parts. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My trigger finger is at it again. Sometimes I cannot dig up a single thought when I’m sad, but I’m the opposite when I’m happy. 😀

    Like

  4. Phoenix Rainez says:

    I find my mood decides the emotion of the chapter I write. But more often than not I find writing a poem will trigger a new scene for my chapter and always breaks the writers block I sometimes find myself in. Certain music inspires my thought waves in directions I have no control over and when reading back my story has taken an unexpected turn I had not intended to write.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Phoenix Rainez says:

    If Music sets your soul free and give yours muse the wings she needs, to paint your canvas with her words, play on and let the writer find her song ….

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.