Thursday Doors – Around the Town

This week’s Thursday Doors are from random streets around the town of Dundalk. I featured the first one a couple of weeks ago but this image is from a different angle. Of course, I had to include a red door in at least one of these photos.

Mind you, I’m quite partial to a grey door, especially when it’s surrounded by such lovely pillars.

The next photograph is of the courthouse, designed by Edward Parke and John Bowden in the Neoclassical style  and modeled on the Temple of Hephaestus in Athens. It was completed in 1819.

A stone sculpture, The Maid of Erin, stands in front of the courthouse as a memorial to the Irish rebellion of 1798.

Another example of metal artwork that can be found around the town

Thanks for stopping by. Next week we’ll have a coffee and a wee bit of history along with it. For lots more Thursday Doors carry on over to Norm’s blog.

About Jean Reinhardt

Author of 'A Pocket Full of Shells' an Amazon International best seller, Jean writes young adult and historical fiction. She has been known to shed a tear over Little House on the Prairie.
This entry was posted in Art, Blogging, Historical buildings, Ireland, The Good Things in Life, Thursday Doors, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Thursday Doors – Around the Town

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    That courthouse building is a classic and looks just how a courthhouse is supposed look…at least in my opinion 😉
    I’m a big fan of the grey door you found too. Good post Jean 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I love the building with the red door. The grey door looks imposing, but it is very nice. The courthouse is magnificent. I agree with Norm, it’s how a courthouse should look. I think my favorite view is the stone wall in the first image.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ally Bean says:

    I can see why you like that gray door. It’s stunning in an understated way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Red is always good but I like the grey doors as well.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  5. christinecraze says:

    Just lovely Jean! thank you for sharing. Love seeing these

    Like

  6. marianallen says:

    What a beautiful town to live in! It’s a history lesson and an outdoor art museum all in one.

    Like

  7. Junie says:

    Your first capture: weathered, but I like it:) The grey door – I am partial to pillars and arches – what a beautiful frame to this grey door! The statue of the Irish rebellion is beautiful and poignant:)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa says:

    The grey paint of the building makes the red door really pop out!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. slfinnell says:

    I’m down for coffee next week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.